"IF" i was getting a 8800GTX would my PSU be sufficient? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 05:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

snake eyes my psu is more than enough to run a 8800GTX, its just the fact id need two pci express connections on the psu.

Heres the minimum requirements from a website where i get all my pc stuff.............

· 450W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 30A or more*

· Two 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors

-or-

· Four 4-pin Molex supplementary power connectors

so 450w and you can use four 4 pin molex connectors aswell which i didnt know
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

PSU watt whores are people who make me mad. Just becuase PSU's like OCZ label their 600 or 700w models "Gaming" everyone thinks that 600w's is needed on every model.

It has been tested that an 8800GTX can run on a FPS 400w.

I always say get a 500w PSU and that's all you will ever need unless you go SLI.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
PSU watt whores are people who make me mad. Just becuase PSU's like OCZ label their 600 or 700w models "Gaming" everyone thinks that 600w's is needed on every model.

It has been tested that an 8800GTX can run on a FPS 400w.

I always say get a 500w PSU and that's all you will ever need unless you go SLI.
yeah most home pcs would NEVER fully use a "good" 500w psu.

I was thinking maybe theres a lead/cable that plugs into the pci express slot on the psu then on the other end is two plugs to go into the GPU? ill have to do some research now!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

FSP 400w has more amps on 12v rail.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.