If i get vista, should i get DX10 card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2007, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

Im planning out what i want to upgrade on my computer this year. One of the first things i wanna do, is to get vista. Now i know people are gonna warn me about waiting for service packs ect. but i have a few reasons. One, i need media center, so that i can send video to my 360. 2, halo2 vista, which I haven't been lokking forward to tremendously, but im a halo nut. Also, ill be able to us DX10, which is just a small bonus in the short run. My second upgrade, and the one that im definately doing, is to buy a new graphics card. The question is, do i go with better performance, or do i go with direct x10? Im looking into the 8600gts and the 7950gt as my options right now. What would you guys recomend? Go with whats more future proof, or go with the better performance? Im also looking into late in the year upgrading to maybe one of those 45nm intel processors, but idk yet, since ill have to buy a motherboard with new chipsets. So, any suggestions? im gonna spend between 200-250 on a new graphics card. I may shoot for the cheapest 8800gts, but im not sure yet, that would take me about a month to save for, plus im buying vista.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

8800GS 320mb or you can get a 7900gt with evga and use the 90 day step up program

Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

You wouldn't have to but it probably wouldn't be a bad idea. If it's going to be a month from now to you are putting your system together maybe you should make the call then what card you are getting depending on what the prices do.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

yeah i haven't thought about the step up program, but basically all it does is give me 90 days to find more money right? and then trade in the current card plus the extra cash, for a better card. If i get an 8800gts at all, ill just save some more, cause it's only an extra week beyond what i would have to save for an 8600gts or a 7950gt. So i may go with the 320mb 8800gts after all. I think that answers the big question, but i would also like to know if these 45nm chips intels coming out with late 07 are going to be as big of a step up as the core2's were, and also, whats AMD's equivilant, and what do we know about that?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumber4578 View Post
You wouldn't have to but it probably wouldn't be a bad idea. If it's going to be a month from now to you are putting your system together maybe you should make the call then what card you are getting depending on what the prices do.
Im not building a brand new system, im just looking for upgrades for this one. Also, how loud are those 8800gts's? Cause thats prolly one of the bigger problems with my surrent graphics card, i can't leave my computer on overnight, because of the graphics card. I can sleep with the lights and all the other fans, but this one is really loud and screetchy(don't think thats a word).
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

I have one and it isn't noticeable over my Zalman 9500 at 50%
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

one thing to remember if you are even looking at getting a 8800 is it's size! HUGE! bigger than what I thought. I have a huge full tower case and that baby
hardly fit! covers up some stuff on my board - jumpers, headers, whatever else. Just something to think about. That and they require a lot of juice. I don't know about the GTS but my GTX needs two PCI power connections. If you don't have a PSU with PCI-E connecters it will use 4, 4-pin power connectors for the adapters.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 09:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

My psu is 550 watts, and i think 2 12 rails with around 16 amps on each, and yes it has a pci-e power adapter, so i should be good. But psu is another thing im lookin into replacing, cause i've heard bad things about this antec smartpower series. Oh, and i have 2 inches to spare with this card, and if i move my HD down a few slots, ill have a good 6 inches.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 10:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

the 8800GTS isn't so huge (apparently not much larger than a 6800GS i'm told) but the 8800GTX is undoubtedly large. my personal opinion is there still isn't that much reason to get Vista, however i'm not sure about the media centre/xbox 360 issue. if you only need a media centre app there are alternatives
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 10:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: If i get vista, should i get DX10 card?

if you could fill me in on that one, i asked in the 360 forum and no one told me about any other way then media center. That'd save me about 200 bucks, or whatever home premium is.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM
Best silent video card spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-26-2007 05:32 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.