if i am to build now should i use my old vid card untill... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
Default if i am to build now should i use my old vid card untill...

I am planning on starting my build on my jan 31st payday.

But with the new gen video cards coming, should i just get everything but a video card now. and get that after the new stuff comes and prices drop?

I have a old 4600ti that i can deal with for another month or so.
im just afraid its about to crap out, its been oc'ed for atleast 2 years, probally longer. It over heats occasionally now. maybe i need to turn it back down.


Also, are other things soon to be? Ive heard cpu's are also coming soon. but it seems like they are always coming soon.
__________________

Jesta is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 01:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Cutting edge today will be outdated tomorrow. That's just the way tech works, unfortunately.

The new AMD sockets aren't due for a few months, so I wouldn't sweat it. Either build now, or keep saving for the new stuff.

New video tech is constantly coming, but the newer it is, the higher the price tag. Buy what you can afford and can stand to use
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I would wait it out till you can do the whole deal. That 4600 is probably an AGP card. You'd have to buy yourself an AGP motherboard to make it work, and you'd already be behind. That's phased out technology. I'd suggest sitting on the money for a little while longer. We're about to catch a new generation of everything.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.