IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2008, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

Im buying for a new build soon a motherboard with only one IDE channel, i have an IDE dvd drive and an IDE harddrive i want to hook up. Ive been reading on differents sites different things about performence drops when they are both running, some say it doesnt matter. Have any of you done this? have you noticed any performence drop?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

There shouldn't be a drop if you use the 80-pin IDE cable.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

Newegg.com - AMC EMI Shielding ROUND, ATA133 IDE Cable, with Chassis Ground Wire Model CATA133-243B - OEM

????
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

The mobo you will be buying comes with an 80-pin IDE cable.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

You should be fine, no noticeable difference for sure.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

Make sure your bios is set to detect the drives. It probably will be, but when I was ghosting my new sata drive to be the primary I forgot to change the bios back. So my ide drives were set to none in bios, they worked fine but file transfers took literally 10 times as long.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

make sure the mother board you get will support ide dvd drives or ide hdd, as soem of the new boards only support one or the other, my maximus formula only supports sata dvd drives, but will support ide hdd, which i find is weird, anyway just dont get screwd and check that it supports ide before you buy.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

Newegg.com - ABIT AN52 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 520 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
All ive found on it so far is that it supports "2 ATA devices maximum"
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

???????????
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 06:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: IDE Perfomence drop running Dvd drive + HDD on Single Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikoman69 View Post
???????????
Yes, that can take a DVD and HDD on one line.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Windows Vista Discussion Tyler1989 Microsoft Windows and Software 2568 05-04-2008 03:52 PM
Setting SATA DVD drive to primary drive? thejeremy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-03-2008 02:53 AM
Need adapter to connect IDE drive to SATA port on mobo. Mr. LL Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2007 07:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.