ide cables for hd and cd drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Exclamation ide cables for hd and cd drive?

Is the ide cable same for the hd as it is for a cd drive?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Default

As long as the HDD is not SATA , then yes, you can use the same cables from your cd / dvd drives.
__________________

Black_Zeus90 is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

thanks
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default

Well not totally, there are 2 types fo IDE cables

Ultra DMA (80-Conductor) IDE/ATA Cables and the
original 40-conductor IDE cable

The newer cable can be treated the same way as a 40-conductor cable. Since it is of higher quality, it can be used in place of a 40-conductor cable in older systems without any issues. However, it does not directly replace a 40-conductor cable select cable. Note also that the 18" length restriction associated with the original 40-conductor cable.

I was tot he point where I was going to RMA it back thinking it was defective, till I read the setup guide a little more carefully.

My Hd's ran fine with the 40's but a newer cd drive that I bought would only work with the cables that were supplyed with it, which in turn were the 80 cabes ones.
alilxmas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.