IDE Cable question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 11:46 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Was that "Hah! Dngrsone is right" or "Hah! Dngrsone is full of sh*t?"


... or a combination thereof?
__________________

Dngrsone is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:53 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

It was a "I don't think haveing an optical drive and hard drive on the same channel will reduce performance" ha...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

what is the advatage of having round ide cable.
cbrannam is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cbrannam
what is the advatage of having round ide cable.
They look nicer and you have slightly better airflow in your case.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 01:53 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

but they are not any faster than the flat ones?????

then y is everyone talking about them? just for the look? i will not be able to see mine for the outside of my case due to water cooled system inclosed in the case.
cbrannam is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:00 PM   #26 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Same speed.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:11 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If you have a water cooled case with no window, then get the ribbon cables if you want. I personally would rather open up the computer and see a neatlly placed round cable. It helps you see everything. The cables usually come with motherboards anyway, so it's not a big money splurge.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:26 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

i went and bought the cables just wanted to know what the hipp was all about. i heard one guy talking about the speed transfer is a little faster? just checking.
__________________

cbrannam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.