IDE Cable question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 27
Default IDE Cable question

I just recently got into building computers (just built my second yesterday) and right now I'm trying to clean up the birds nest I got of IDE cables and such. I'm about to purchase a round IDE cable

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812183043

Now it has 3 connections on it. All I have that uses IDE in my computer is my 1 CD-ROM drive and then my HD. With that, would I plug one end into my CD-ROM, the middle into my HD and then the other end into my motherboard? Cuz right now they are on seperate IDE cables. Anyone be able to clear this up for me
__________________

StylingPaT is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

what you said is correct...

you plug it into the motherboard, one into the hard drive, and the other into the cd drive... or if you had two cables like that, you could have two hard drives on one line... and two optical drives on the other...

keep in mind you have to set the hard drive to primary and the cd drive to slave...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 27
Default

I think thats how it is aready set up in my bios. If I plug the IDE into both, will I know if I set up my slave and master wrong?
StylingPaT is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default



look for something like that on the back of the hard drive and cd drive...

somewhat self explainatory...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

correct me if im wrong, i always thought you should keep your HD on one channel and your optical drives on another. I thought if you have a HD and CD-rom drive on the same cable, the transfer rate will default to the slowest item connected to it. so say you have a old cd rom thats ATA 33, wouldnt that make the HD run at 33 instead of 100 or 133?
doodle dee is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default



thats never happened to me... I have two hard drives on one channel (ide1) and a dvd and cd drive on the other(ide 2)

I don't see any significant speed decrease...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

i cant say for sure, ive never tried putting both on the same cable since most motherboards have at least 2 IDE channels anyways, but i've been told by many not to put optical and HD on the same channel, maybe an urban comp myth or something i dunno haha, well to OP i say if you only have 1 channel, do what juice daddy says, if you 2 channels on your mobo, just buy 2 cables.

Also, no need buying thermaltake cables, and if you buying more than 1 cable, neweggs shipping is all screwy, try lil mod shops like these:

http://www.jab-tech.com/Dual-Device-...-IDE-c-24.html
http://www.petrastechshop.com/24.html
doodle dee is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 03:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by doodle dee
correct me if im wrong, i always thought you should keep your HD on one channel and your optical drives on another. I thought if you have a HD and CD-rom drive on the same cable, the transfer rate will default to the slowest item connected to it. so say you have a old cd rom thats ATA 33, wouldnt that make the HD run at 33 instead of 100 or 133?
That has been the mantra for the past fifteen years or so. I should do an experiment to see how valid that is nowadays...

At any rate, the idea is that if the slower CDROM is using the channel, then the HDD has to wait until the channel is freed up before it can do its thing. If we are talking transfers between the CDROM and the HDD on the same IDE cable, then that can slow things down considerably.

One of the advantages of the SATA specification is that each drive has its own channel and this problem is eliminated.

If we are talking about having two HDDs and a CDROM, then it would make sense to place the second HDD on the same channel as the CDROM rather than with the other HDD because of teh same truism-- on different IDE channels, both drives can write at the same time (nearly, let's not get into the serial-task nature of computers here). THis is particularly useful if the second drive happens to carry the swap file on it.
Dngrsone is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

prove it...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

While it's true that you can run a IDE HDD & ATAPI OPTICAL DRIVE on the same IDE Channel, why would you want two devices to share the same bandwidth of one IDE channel? Doesn't make much sense to me? There are two IDE channels on motherboards, "Primary and Secondary" Both channels have their own bandwidth bus. They also use seperate IRQ's (Primary uses 14 and Secondary uses 15 or sometimes 10) I'd recommend using both for optimal performance.

Spend another $4.75 and get a second rounded IDE cable.
Also, you're getting a 24" cable. Unless you have a HUGE full tower or SERVER case... 18" is normally more then enough...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.