IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 06:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

Quote:
IBM announced yesterday its new System z10 mainframe computer, complete with its next-generation z10 processor. IBM says the z10 is designed from the ground up to dramatically increase data center efficiency and reduce power and floor space requirements as well as cooling costs.

The new z10 is equal to nearly 1,500 x86 servers in performance and requires up to 85% less power and requires up to 85% less floor space. IBM also says that the system allows the consolidation of x86 software license at up to a 30:1 ratio.

The z10 utilizes 64 purpose-built quad-core processors for performance and is scalable enough to support hundreds to hundreds of thousands of users according to IBM. The server will support a wide range of workloads including Linux, XML, Java, WebSphere and IBM is working with Sun to bring Solaris to the z10.

IBM describes that 991 million transistor processor as a four-core processor with 3MB of L2 cache per core. The company claims the chip can operate in excess of 4.4 GHz. A separate, dedicated "service" processor adds 24MB of L3 cache, sharable among all the processor cores.

The highest-end z10 processors use five quad-core die packages and two service cores; that's 20 cores at 4.4 GHz, 60 MB of L2 cache and 48 MB of shared L3 cache on a single processor.

IBM was in the news in early February 2008 for proposing a single supercomputer capable of hosting the entire Internet as a web application. With the z10, IBM's ambitious plan might not be that far of a pipe dream.

Each of these three IBM z10 processor contains twenty cores, 60MB of L2 and 48MB of L3 cache (Source: IBM)


Each z10 processor features five processor die, each die contains four physical cores (Source: IBM)

Source
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Wink Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

I want two.....but I don't have the bazillion dollars to buy them!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

The new z10 is equal to nearly 1,500 x86 servers in performance and requires up to 85% less power and requires up to 85% less floor space.

now thats impressive.. but it also costs 1,500x the price of a normal x86 processor :P
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

well yeah, they cant increase the performance and not the price.. duh
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

I know just saying I felt like being a smart-alec
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

haha, I mean. it is totally unethical to save us money, and give us performance. that just isnt how companies like this work..
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

i wish IBM still made desktop processors.....then they would be cheaper
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

Think they will ever get back into the market?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

i hope sooo
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: IBM z10 Processor Takes 20-core Crown

You would save money on your electric bill....

What would that 4.4ghz be equal to in core2 ghz? Like IBM Z10 4.4ghz = core2 x.x ghz?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Great single core> Average dual core? jeller System Upgrades 17 11-28-2007 01:18 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.