i7 Temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2009, 07:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default i7 Temps

Finally got the thing built, will post up stuff later and get my sig finished.

Idle Temps:


Load Temps (Intel Burn In):


(Time is sorta wrong in last shot, i opened it again after a run of about 10 minutes...)
Also, in GTX260 SLI, the top card (hottest for sure, only 2mm gap between the two cards so not much air goes in) runs at 45 idle and durring Crysis Warhead 65 to 70.

There we go, what do you think of temps?
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 08:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: i7 Temps

Seems pretty good, although the second shot is only 50% load. Whats your voltage at right now, also how much do you plan on overclocking.

The gpu temps are fine, thats actually pretty good for sli, as long as your card doesn't get over 75 your good.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: i7 Temps

Yeah i noticed it was only 50% load, Intel Burn Test is meant to be a real task for any cpu but it never pushed it more. Ill run Prime and check.

What programs do you suggest for viewing voltages and such? RivaTuner has the common unsigned driver problem with Vista x64 (ways around it but dont feel like doing it).
zedman3d is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
myowngod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: i7 Temps

what cooler are you running?
__________________
HAF 932 | i7 920 @ 4.4ghz | OCZ Platinum | EVGA GTX285-SC | EVGA X58 SLI
Corsair 1000HX | Samsung T240 & 2253bw | Watercooled
myowngod is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 01:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: i7 Temps

Rifle.

EDIT: Did Prime before i left for work for 5 minutes, 57 max.
Will do it for an hour when i get back.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: i7 Temps

nice zedman

hope to join the i7 club soon.

have you done any benchmarks with that sli you have?
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 04:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: i7 Temps

Thanks, i hope i did the Rifle installation right anyway, i did two thin strips of MX2 on the two grey seperators on the bottom.

I ran Crysis Warhead and i noticed zero lag, but havent checked actual fps. I got a pretty good 13-14 seconds in Superpi on stock 2.6. Pretty impresive. Good if i got around 10 on a 3.6ghz OC.

Will do a good day of benchmarking and pics in the days to come, just have a few school things i gotta fix.

I checked SLI was good with the SLI indicators in Crysis Warhead.
Will run Superpi, Crysis Warhead, Mass Effect, World in Conflict, 3dmark Vantage and what ever else i can get my hands on eventually.

HDTach will be interesting too: 7200.12 500GB, Spinpoint 500GB, 7200.10 250GB.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 05:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: i7 Temps

Looks good mate. About similar to my temps at stock. Get cracking on overclocking.

You temps for SLI are very good also.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 06:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: i7 Temps

just curious what your other card temperature is, if your good card is only 65-70 under load what is your cooler bottom card? also what case are you using with which fan config.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 06:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: i7 Temps

better temps then mine, course my case sucks.



my high is about 67. (CPU)

I have a generic no name mid tower case with no Front Audio support. But I plan to go HAF 932 soon, so we shall see what changes temp wise, it should be interesting really, since it will be the same stock cooling supplies and same everything but change of case....
__________________

Gothch1ck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GX2 / Temps / Case Fans Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-12-2009 12:49 PM
Temps for My System azstars Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-22-2009 09:09 PM
Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps Inserity Overclocking and Modding 14 12-18-2008 01:44 AM
the different temps i get. braz Overclocking and Modding 8 02-28-2008 01:14 PM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.