i7 d0 store - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2009, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default i7 d0 store

Im wanting to get an i7 d0 revision. I found this site via evga forums. Several people have had ordered from it and are happy. Does anyone here have experience with them or or site suggestions? Thanks.

Antares Digital
__________________

insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: i7 d0 store

You can get them on ncixus but there are a fair bit more expensive, this site prices seem ok, i don't see why not. Note that there are no overclocking differences between the two revisions, the only difference i know is that the TJ max is now 93c instead of 100c. It will most likley run slightly cooler, other then that, it wont make any difference i'd say.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: i7 d0 store

Everything that I have seen shows that the D0 runs the same clocks at less vcore than the C0.

Edit: that means it is better
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: i7 d0 store

I know, but the i7 I have seems to be a dud, doesnt overclock well and requires too much vcore to do nothing. So, instead of rma'ing, might as well get a d0 and sell this one.

On a hardware related note, is the clock the only difference between the gtx 285 sc and the gtx 285 ftw? I can't o/c the sc much but the ftw seems to have good potential. I'll probably sell the sc and get a ftw too.
insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: i7 d0 store

Quote:
Originally Posted by insane84722 View Post
On a hardware related note, is the clock the only difference between the gtx 285 sc and the gtx 285 ftw? I can't o/c the sc much but the ftw seems to have good potential. I'll probably sell the sc and get a ftw too.
Dont do that.... just buy an aftermarket cooler if your having issues. Arctic Cooling GTX280 heatsink. Its practically the same card.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: i7 d0 store

Quote:
Originally Posted by insane84722 View Post
I know, but the i7 I have seems to be a dud, doesnt overclock well and requires too much vcore to do nothing. So, instead of rma'ing, might as well get a d0 and sell this one.

On a hardware related note, is the clock the only difference between the gtx 285 sc and the gtx 285 ftw? I can't o/c the sc much but the ftw seems to have good potential. I'll probably sell the sc and get a ftw too.
not worth it. The extra few mhz you get with a FTW wont make much difference in games. As far as the d0 goes, if you can get one, its worth it over a c0 if you are going for 4.5ghz+. I'm still staking out Microcenter for when they get one in. Both of the i7's i have bought in the last month to replace the one i killed have been crappy. Takes almost 1.5v to get 4.2ghz stable, where as my old one was stable at 1.4v

At the post above me, there IS a difference between a 280 and 285. Practically the same is not "the same". A 280 heatsink will NOT fit a 285.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 09:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: i7 d0 store

Thanks. I will be getting a d0. I'll keep the video card and get another for SLI as planned.

On another note, again... what is the difference between the evga x58 sli and classified?
insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 02:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: i7 d0 store

The biggest difference is the power handling. The classified can handle up to 600w to the cpu. It has dual 8pin connections. Also it has room for a sound card, tri-sli and physx card.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: i7 d0 store

Would it be worth considering if overclocking to 4ghz+ with 2 sli cards? Also, does the gtx 285 have physx or would I need another card for that?

Via evga forums, people say it runs at x16 x16 x8 x8, since my sound card is regular pci, the 2nd card would block it, so doesn't look like a possibility anyway as long as the x58 sli can o/c to 4ghz.
insane84722 is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: i7 d0 store

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanguardfox View Post
I agree, the only reason why i7 is such a hot processor is because it's new, but for price/performance in terms of upgrade, it is not worth it.
Yup........that's exactly it................

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanguardfox View Post
it looks to me like that pci sound card could be a possible minor bottleneck since it should be the slowest part of your system. if you are overclocking a E8600 and an i7, I would go with the E8600 simply because it is much better in the price/performance aspect.
I'm going to be nice and point out what you just said and let others comment on it. I'm biting my toungue.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Opening First Queenland Store Harper Apple and Mac 5 05-07-2009 03:59 AM
where to buy: online or in a store??? Santuzzo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-14-2009 08:34 AM
Apple Store Bans Facebook For Life Osiris Apple and Mac 10 02-12-2009 04:59 AM
Rock Band - Music Store Problem Prisonbreak94 Sony Playstation 6 10-13-2008 01:12 PM
Apple Adds NDA to App Store Rejection Notices KSoD Apple and Mac 6 10-02-2008 10:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.