I7 build, looking for input - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2010, 12:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

Oh you probaboy can, I have 2 260s in my 900......



Now get us some internal pics.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 01:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

moar pictures!!!
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 02:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

I will get some more pictures when I get home from work, the big problem for me is that the 12v power cable for the MB goes near the back of the case so I have wires running over there that look bad, and get in the way of the 2nd video card, I am sure I could make everything fit better If I extended the cables and ran them where they where not in the way.

I built it mainly to play FF14 and just ran the benchmark test for it last night and I blew it away, I think I got a 5700 on it and thats loading off my HDD not the SSD and I still have not gone in to mess with the settings for the memory yet. so needless to say I am very happy with the rig so far
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

Get a 12v extension cable.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 07:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

It seems to be running a little hotter then I would have expected it to, but I could be crazy seem to run around 45-49 during idle and under load near 70.
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 07:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

Are you using the stock cooler / heatsink??
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 07:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Are you using the stock cooler / heatsink??
yeah, and I live in south texas its about 75 in the house right now which is what like 24C or so

I have just been messing around with stuff I may end up getting some kinda water cooling unit or something in the near future.

I just dont know what hot is under load for the i7's, 70?

ran the prim95 at stock settings and the range is about 80-87

zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

70 is hot but acceptable, under full load my i7 920 @ 4.2 GHz runs up to 75C, I live in Florida and the temperature is about the same as yours and I'm air cooling. A good Heatsink will control your temperature better and allow you to overclock if your interested. You probably won't be able to run as fast as me but I've been doing this for a long time.

I have a few heatsinks for sale if your interested. FS (3) Thermalright Ultra eXtreme 120 (TRUE)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
70 is hot but acceptable, under full load my i7 920 @ 4.2 GHz runs up to 75C, I live in Florida and the temperature is about the same as yours and I'm air cooling. A good Heatsink will control your temperature better and allow you to overclock if your interested. You probably won't be able to run as fast as me but I've been doing this for a long time.

I have a few heatsinks for sale if your interested. FS (3) Thermalright Ultra eXtreme 120 (TRUE)
yeah I was just looking into getting an H50 through work (about 50 bucks) I would be interested, but im not sure how that would fit in my case :P (antec 900)

so 80 at full load stock settings and heat sink is probably a bit warm
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: I7 build, looking for input

70C load is pretty normal for an i7 920/930 with the stock heatsink. I have my 930 at 3.0GHz on the stock heatsink and it hovers 70 to 74. I run Folding@Home 24/7 so I only ever see load temps, the i7 is too awesome to waste time idling. I'm not too thrilled with those temps and I'd really like to overclock some more so I plan on buying a better heatsink sometime soon.

I too have the Antec 900, I moved the drive cages up 2 spots so that the front intake fans move air directly over the motherboard rather than wasting it blowing at the PSU. I'm wondering what the best heatsink would be for the 900 or if the H50 is worth it. The problem with the H50 is that you really don't get to take advantage of the top fan, the radiator is designed for a rear 120mm fan.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great Beginner Build Guide Spit-wad New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-29-2009 10:17 PM
Need advice on 1st time budget build Dudeman System Upgrades 6 04-12-2009 06:29 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.