i3 vs Core 2 Quad? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2011, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default i3 vs Core 2 Quad?

in theory, which machine would be faster?


HP Compaq Elite 8000

Processor
64-bit Computing: Yes
Clock Speed: 2.66 GHz
Installed Qty: 1
Manufacturer: Intel
Max Supported Qty: 1
Multi-Core Technology: Quad-Core
Processor Number: Q8400
Type: Core 2 Quad

Mainboard
Chipset Type: Intel Q45 Express

**********************************

HP Workstation z200

Processor

64-bit Computing: Yes
Clock Speed: 3.06 GHz
Installed Qty: 1
Manufacturer: Intel
Max Supported Qty: 1
Multi-Core Technology: Dual-Core
Processor Number: I3-540
Type: Core i3

Mainboard

Chipset Type: Intel 3450
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 05:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: i3 vs Core 2 Quad?

I couldn't find those two exact processors on tom's hardware...

Toms Hardware Comparison

But i found two similar ones.

Long storey short, not much to separate them. It would depend on what you are doing and if what I have found is actually close to those you've posted.

What is the system surrounding them? Anything else that might separate the two systems?
__________________

__________________
My AMD Machine:
1090T Phenom II
Patriot Signature 1333 DDR3 4GB
ASROCK 890GM
PowerColor Radeon HD 6870
1TB WD 7200rpm SATA3
Win7
-Tenk- is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 06:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: i3 vs Core 2 Quad?

It depends greatly on what you are doing.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: i3 vs Core 2 Quad?

business workstation for network admin. tyipcal home user stuff, office, pics, email. then techie stuff, recording machine activity, processing large files (trim / analyze data), network scanning.

edit - thx trenk for linking the comparison. it's very helpful. rep'd


edit2 - These are the two pcs. click tech specs for for details

Quad
http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/HP-...z/2179567.aspx

i3
http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/HP-...z/2186579.aspx
office politics is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: i3 vs Core 2 Quad?

no worries... like i said, no guarentee on how close they are to the processors in those two machines. Need someone better than I to tell you that... Another idea is to check the older charts... those processors might be outdated.

Quote:
recording machine activity, processing large files (trim / analyze data), network scanning
This might be a problem. Anything will do the first things you listed. Depending on the processing requirements of each of these items.

A quad core would be better. However, I think thats an older chipset. Whilst it competes with the i3, it still heading towards the "antiquitated" pile. If this is a worth machine, it might be worth while considering something a little stronger. It'll cost more, but it might give you an advantage. Also, you can always write it off on tax.
__________________
My AMD Machine:
1090T Phenom II
Patriot Signature 1333 DDR3 4GB
ASROCK 890GM
PowerColor Radeon HD 6870
1TB WD 7200rpm SATA3
Win7
-Tenk- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad core? dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 07-08-2007 02:12 PM
AMD's 65nm Quad Core... TRUE QUAD! cwiz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-18-2007 02:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.