I think I messed up this time... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Unhappy I think I messed up this time...

I wanted to build a high performance AMD based computer and got carried away without thinking to ask the experts... will all this stuff work together?

ANTEC P160W ALUMINUM MID TOWER NO POWER SUPPLY W/ SEE THROUGH SIDE WINDOW & FRONT USB CONNECTOREXTRA 120mm FAN(CLEAR); APEX/ALLIED 450W; POWER SUPPLY INSTALLATION

SEAGATE 250GB ST3250823AS SATA 8MB 7200RPM (Bare drive)*SATA power cord is required0.5m UV-BLUE SATA CABLE; SATA POWER CORD

CREATIVE LABS SOUNDBLASTER AUDIGY2 VALUE DOLBY DIGITAL 7.1 #SB0400 (White box)

ATI RADEON X300SE 256MB DDR PCI EXPRESS W/DVI & TV (OEM - POWERED BY ATI)

SONY 52X/32X/52X CDRW EIDE INTERNAL W/SW (White box) (#CRX230E)AUDIO CABLE; 18" UV-BLUE ROUND CABLE; NO MEDIA

SONY 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE (Bare Drive)18" FDD ROUND CABLE

My wife says I'm an computer idiot... hey I just want to build a computer that will crunch some numbers... Thanks for the help!!
__________________

Harley is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Are you upgrading? Just making sure since I don't see a cpu, motherboard, or ram up there.

Edit: Oh, and if you're going to get into graphics/gaming, I wouldn't recommend the x300, what type of budget do you have with the video card?
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Oh yeas and this is included... dah

ASUS A8V DELUXE VIA K8T800 PRO CHIPSET SERIAL ATA150 ATX FORM FACTOR 1xAGP(8X)/5xPCI/4xDDR W/SATA,RAID,LAN(Gb),USB 2.0,1394 & AUDIO (CPU TYPE:AMD ATHLON 64 - SOCKET 939)AMD ATHLON 64 3200+ - VENICE; THERMALTAKE A4014; CRUCIAL 1GB DDR400 (512MB x 2)
Harley is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Graphics Card

I have $200 left to spend... by the way I bought 2 of the 250 hard drives
Harley is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Shoot, well you ordered a motherboard that is agp based, while your graphics card is pci-express
Meaning they wont be compatable.

I'll edit this within 5 minutes with some good agp video cards from 50-250$

Edit:
Really cheap -
5200FX http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814168002

Cheap -
6200
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814164056

Then somewhere in here is the 6600, but the 6600GT is MUCH better for only dollers more
Evga 6600GT
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220

6800
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814140045

or if you want to stick to ati, x800gt
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch...iteria=AA37270
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

why two?? oh well, dont go with the X300 if you plan on gaming
Spartan is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Spartan666, I bought 3 250g hard drives so I could use that RAID thing... I do a lot of .NET. SQL Server, Photoshop and lots of web stuff.

As for the 300 graphics card... I'll just smash it to smithereens!
Harley is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Well I wouldn't recommend that lol, if you have already ordered it and can't cancel, some places take rma's with only like a 15% restocking fee or something.
If not, sell it on ebay or to a friend

oh, and check my edit above
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The X300/X1300 graphics cards suck. You ordered an AGP mobo and a PCIe graphics card. You should have came here first for help. Send all the parts back as soon as you get them, and tell us the maximum ammount of money you are willing to spend, and I and a number of other people will suggest parts to get.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks PcMe and all the experts...

I knew I should have come here first! I have a total of $1050 to spend and I don't need a monitor.

Hear that sound?? That's me smashing my head against the wall because I'm so ticked off at myself!!!
__________________

Harley is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.