I pulled the trigger!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Smile I pulled the trigger!!

Okay, so I ordered all this stuff today. I made one change to my original build and that was in the memory. Instead of the pc8500 dominator I went with the ones listed below. I have read that they overclock just as well and I will not be maxing them out with the fsb limitations that are in place currently. I also had a guy buy the lcd in my sig today and ordered the 30" Dell with the rediculous resolution. I am so amped to get this stuff together and once I have some benchmarks and pics I'll get them up. If anybody has any of these componants and has any advice for installations, updates, etc.. let me know. I am already planning on going to the evga website and upgrading the bios on the mobo right after I get everything up and running. And of course I will update the vid card drivers. Happy New Year All!!!!

SILVERSTONE TJ09-BW
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16811163073


3-Scythe S-FLEX SFF21F 120mm Case Fan - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16835185006





ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED 92mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan with Heatsink - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16835118223



Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16835100007




Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model BL2KIT12864AA1005 - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146563



EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813188009




PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR EPS12V 1000W Continuous @ 50°C Power Supply - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16817703007



Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600 - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819115003


2-eVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16814130072


I already have the sound card in my sig.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 03:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Awesome.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Nice, one thing I'd like to suggest though: If you're getting a 64x version of Windows, maybe you should kick your memory up to 4 GB? A lot of games about to come out are very demanding. I remember how it was when I only had 1 GB and stuff was starting to get laggy. 2 GB is like the new 1 GB lol.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

And windows vista is 64 bit correct? Will I see big performance decreases having 4 1gb sticks over 2-2gb? I hope not cause that means I just dropped 300 on memory that I will need more of in about a month......
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

you won't need more in about a month... maybe a year or so once everyone figures out what it is, that is needed for running Vista and games... By then the main stream might be 4GB, but until then even 64 bit will run more than excellent on 2GB of ram... no worries, you'll be fine.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.