I/O Shield - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2008, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 97
Default I/O Shield

Quick question; well I was taking apart my computer to clean it out, but forgot to put the I/O shield in first.. is it that big of a deal to leave it out?
__________________

Shirtbird is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I/O Shield

Its not a big deal (for me)

Some people like it there, I personally don't use it on there as its hard to clean if it gets a bit dusty back there
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 97
Default Re: I/O Shield

Alright, works for me. It stays out!

Thanks
Shirtbird is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I/O Shield

Plus its not worth removing your motherboard, unplug your PSU wires on it all over again just to put the shield plate
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: I/O Shield

The only problem I see with that is it might let more dust into your case.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: I/O Shield

meh, i don't really care much for them (sure i use it on but i doesn't really matter.

But to put it back on would take less then 2 mins so id just throw it back on. No need to un plug anything, well except the power cord. Unscrew the mobo screws, slide it to the side a bit and pop it in.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: I/O Shield

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
meh, i don't really care much for them (sure i use it on but i doesn't really matter.

But to put it back on would take less then 2 mins so id just throw it back on. No need to un plug anything, well except the power cord. Unscrew the mobo screws, slide it to the side a bit and pop it in.
Jeeze that hurts my back just thinking about it. :laughing:

It sounds easy, but i guarantee its not going to be the easiest thing you've ever done.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: I/O Shield

i don't get what could be hard about it. he;s made the thread, he could have put it back on in less time.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I/O Shield Necessary? zabak80 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 05-15-2008 06:29 PM
Anti-Trojan Shield D.Arbib Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-19-2008 06:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.