I need a router for gaming. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default I need a router for gaming.

Hi guys

I'm going to need a router to connect 2 computers to 1 cable modem for gaming (BF2).

What non-wireless router should I buy?

Will using 2 computers with 1 cable modem, slow the connection?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

I think d-link make the best. im happy with mine
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

D-Link makes a line of routers that's specific to gaming and gives really low latencies. That's prolly gonna be your best bet, they're supposed to be really nice.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Thanks guys

I checked out the D-link gaming router and it's $110 Do I really need 1000mbs?

What would be a step down from the D-link gaming router?
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I have a WRT54GS, and i have two computers hooked directly to it and one wirelessly, and its awesome
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There is no need for the 1000mb/s especially when the network card in the PC's will probally only support 100mb/s.

I really like the Speedtouch routers (sleek looking.) and I have no problems running a PC and a Xbox 360 off of it at the same time with low latencies in games.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No, you don't need that expensive router. All you need for gaming is the $20 Gigafast EE410-R. I have it; it's great. The latencies on traceroutes are excellent, it has a built in firewall, and it supports port fowarding. Another plus, is the fact that my downstream speed is 2-3mb/s faster with the router than without it, and no I'm not kidding on this one. I can't understand why, but hey-- free upgrade.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

003 what connection speed do you have? (as standard?)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

It's susposed to be 6MB/s, but with the router plugged in, I get 7-8mb/s, I've even seen it as high as 9.1mb/s. Without the router I get 4-5mb/s.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Does the connection speed slow when 2 computers are gaming(BF2) at the same time on 1 modem with a router?

Can I really buy a cheap router and get the same online gaming performance as an expensive one?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
DBD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.