I need a PSU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2007, 12:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yes it is but that FPS will run awesome as well and it's 10 bucks cheaper. FPS are always great PSU's and they both have 450w and I will bet you the FPS has just as just as many Amps as well, since I cant compare becuase that coolermaster doesn't have a lot of specs. I still think since they both have the same watts and FPS being a better name in general, for 10 bucks less they it would work the same if not better.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 12:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
not because of lack of quality.
for more money.

Cooler Master is among the best in terms of price/quality
Ill agree with anything less then 45 to 50 bucks. But anything over that amount No..

Again, my list hits 99% of the the "Best" to "good" to "ok" Power supplies.

****, I didn't even Include Hiper Type R or Xclio
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I think actually FPS makes the best PSU's for the money under 450w's.

The 400 and 450w model are such good PSU's for the money then it just depends on how many watt's your looking for...Rosewill usually work great but sometimes they give out. My Rosewill 450w runs great and only cost me 38 bucks or something, may not be the best choice but It works well enough for me.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 10:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dawizhacker
I went to the place where I bought me PSU and asked if I had warranty, they said I have this RMA, where they send it to the states and I get it either repaired, replaced or upgraded to something better, all I need to do is pay shipping. $20

Should I just get it RMA or get a new one?
Antec makes great PSUs, just RMA it, odds are the new one you get back from them wont fail for as long as you use that pc.
Inferno is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 02:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

^^^
Ok. roger that, I'll get a 450 watt forton for now untill it comes in.
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evergreen
So the same wattage Fortron for 10 dollars less costs more money?
take another look:
price/quality has two variables. one of them is price, the other is what?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 04:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
take another look:
price/quality has two variables. one of them is price, the other is what?
Excuse me if I interpreted this wrong, but are you saying the Fortron PSU is not a quality power supply?

This is what I saw.

A 450W CoolerMaster Power Supply for 60 bucks, or a 450w Fortron Power Supply for 50 bucks. It's an easy decision for me.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 04:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evergreen
Excuse me if I interpreted this wrong, but are you saying the Fortron PSU is not a quality power supply?
no, I was referring specifically to the Cooler Master power supply being of high quality.

Quote:
Originally posted by Evergreen
A 450W CoolerMaster Power Supply for 60 bucks, or a 450w Fortron Power Supply for 50 bucks. It's an easy decision for me.
I'm just speaking from experience: my 450W Cooler Master was able to handle a voltmodded 7950 GT, and an X2 4600+ without any hassles. (both overclocked)

Though later, I replaced the cooler master with a Hiper 580W.

Why?
  • modular cables
  • looks great
  • can now use the cooler master PSU for a second system
  • got a matching EPS cable with it
not because it couldn't handle the system, or any quality issues.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 06:43 AM   #19 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Cooler Master is not a bad company but when it comes to it and a Fortron with the same watts I would go with the Fortron becuase the name but still they are not bad PSU's. It's really just hit and miss even some of the good companies. I mean I have a 450w Rosewill powering my system and it's working lol, i'll eventually replace it before it has the chance to die and destroy my entire system lol but I got it for 35 bucks on sale and it it was that or only a 7600GT heh.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.