I need a PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2007, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default I need a PSU

My antec II 500 Watt died on one of my computers, so I need a new PSU. I last time spent like 160$, which was crazy, I was n00b back then :B

I don't want to spend way to much on this machine, I'm thinking 50-60USD.

THIS IS THE BUILD:
CPU: 3500+ NON-OC'd
MOBO: DFI LANPARTY ULTRA-D NF4 UT
RAM: ONE GIG Samsung
VIDEO: 7600 GT KO
FANZ: 8 x 80mm, 2 x 120mm
Sound Card: Audigy Creative 2 Value

I think that about covers it
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171005

I have one of those. it's a descent PSU.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

Fortron 400 or 450w, Hiper 530w and the Mushkin 550w are all supposed to be good. Seasonic 430w if you want to spend a little more. You don't need a whole lot of power for that system.
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Default

Cooler masters on newegg.com is your best bet to save some cash.
Genocidist22 is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Genocidist22
Cooler masters on newegg.com is your best bet to save some cash.
Cheap for a Reason, while they may work wonderfully for some people you can always find a better brand for money.

PC Power and Cooling
Etasis
Zippy
Seasonic
Silverstone
OCZ
Fortron
Enermax
Antec
Tagan

Stick to those brands and you will be fine.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Fortron 450w
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

I went to the place where I bought me PSU and asked if I had warranty, they said I have this RMA, where they send it to the states and I get it either repaired, replaced or upgraded to something better, all I need to do is pay shipping. $20

Should I just get it RMA or get a new one?
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 12:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

FPS 400w will work fine as the 7600GT doesn't have a PCI-E power connector. Still I'd say go with this right here and you will be happy.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 12:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Cheap for a Reason
not because of lack of quality.
Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
while they may work wonderfully for some people you can always find a better brand for money.
for more money.

Cooler Master is among the best in terms of price/quality
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 12:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
not because of lack of quality.
for more money.

Cooler Master is among the best in terms of price/quality
So the same wattage Fortron for 10 dollars less costs more money?
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.