I need a new Mother Board... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2008, 07:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Can I cry? lol... Well DANG! I received the board today and took everything apart. Look what I found...

http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/9225/1000476bd4.jpg
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/3874/1000478gc9.jpg

So I'm assuming both my Mother Board and Processor are history? Wow money is just burning in front of my face. They're both burnt out as you see.

So I now have the EVGA 780i FTW board. What should I do for a processor? That was a Q6600. Should I stick to that or should I go for something bigger and better? Thanks for the help guys! And I do like to OC if that helps in your opinion.
EDIT: Oh and as I mentioned earlier money isn't too much of an issue right now.
EDIT: The Q6600 has 1066MHz and my board can go up to 1333MHz FSB. Might as well take advantage of what it can do!
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

OH BOLLOCKS!! thats q6600 got owned!

Try the Q9550, its only got an 8x Multiplier though... but its 45nm and can go pretty far with a good board (like yours)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 09:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

The Q9550 is pretty hot. I don't know if I want to go that high. What do you think about the Q9450? I don't think I want to spend too much more than $400 ish. It's $220 less.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 07:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

good processor. didnt you already order it?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 11:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Yep this post was last night. After not seeing much of a response I ordered it before I went to bed. I figured the extra $220 just wasn't worth it to go up a notch. So now I'm waiting for it to arrive!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 01:11 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

thats basically what i figured as well...its not worth the 220 bucks for sure. i held out as long as i could for the price to drop to the (supposed) 320ish mark for the q9550. it never did. but it may on the 10th, thats the new big rumor.
if it does, i will sell my 9450 on ebay for what i paid for it (just did it with an e8400) and buy a 9550. then we will see if it would have been worth it lol!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 02:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

yeah good choice, the q9450 is still a good cpu, overclocking is limited but still get u little better performance then a q6600 wen o/c'ed.

bad luck on the board and cpu
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 02:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
thats basically what i figured as well...its not worth the 220 bucks for sure. i held out as long as i could for the price to drop to the (supposed) 320ish mark for the q9550. it never did. but it may on the 10th, thats the new big rumor.
if it does, i will sell my 9450 on ebay for what i paid for it (just did it with an e8400) and buy a 9550. then we will see if it would have been worth it lol!
True true. I can always sell this one if I decided to switch it up. I noticed you hit 3.5Ghz as your final overclock. I know you have a different board but can you post your stats in your bios? What volts and other things you changed? So I can kind of just get a general idea here on the Q9450. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
yeah good choice, the q9450 is still a good cpu, overclocking is limited but still get u little better performance then a q6600 wen o/c'ed.

bad luck on the board and cpu
Yeah $600 mistake... And my two 8800 GT's... I paid $300 a pop on those.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 09:18 AM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

yes i will post all my settings as soon as i get home.
the one i know by heart is that is that my Vcore is 1.225. which according to coretemp is my VID, i believe. so basically, stock voltage. this chip has so much more left in it...it's not even funny. stupid FSB wall! why cant they use an IMC like a real computer company lol lol

interesting read here:
Nehalem News: Editorial - The need for an IMC and why the FSB is dead

PS hey smashed i added the last part of my signature for you jajajaja!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

You know I was able to replace my EVGA 680i with the EVGA 780i FTW and my q6600 with the q9450 without any issues. It booted up perfectly fine. The only thing I had to reinstall was Direct X10. But everything was here as it was before my PC died. Favorites, Desktop Icons, everything. First time I had something run so incredibly smooth.

Anyways as to ocing this bad boy I made a response in this post if anyone can help.
Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Mother board Set up shenvoid01 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 06-28-2008 05:35 PM
Problems with Mother board crash32 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-23-2008 02:19 AM
Mother board... augest Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-01-2008 06:32 PM
My mother board 32 bit or 64bit? HELP! Nekrage Microsoft Windows and Software 8 12-01-2007 10:22 PM
Mother Board Caught on Fire!! What to Do! zetahammy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-06-2007 05:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.