I need a new Mother Board... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2008, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default I need a new Mother Board...

So I'm fairly positive my Mother board is partially fried or something. I was having some PSU issues. My computer would boot sometimes for minutes and other times hours before it turned off. Then one time my PSU started to smoke. Ever since then when I turn the PC on the Monitor does nothing. Just says no signal. On the Mother Board there's two little digital numbers that randomly change. I'm not sure why or for what. But ever since my PSU smoked the numbers don't appear. It's just two dashes like " - - ". So after replacing the PSU I've come to realize that I'm pretty sure my Mother Board is a goner too. All of my computer parts are in my signature. First off does anyone have any insight as to what the issue may be? And if it is dead should I get another 680i board or should I go with something better now? I figure times have changed a little since I built this computer so there may be better options.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Second hand smoke probably gave your motherboard cancer. LOL

Alright now, are you using some big cpu fan? maybe it bent your motherboard, that would be my guess. Or maybe the motherboard is just too old, or defective.

Or lastly maybe you need more watts on your power supply.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 04:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

actually i have a 680i and i doubt its too old xD even if you bought at release it wouldnt be too old. the reading " - - " can actually mean anything. so ur best bet is to check all your connections, i guess you could check if your mobo is bent but i doubt it. a big one with the 680i is, make sure you have the molex plug near your memory dimms plugged in even if your not using sli, because alot of times video cards dont get enough juice. otherwise i rekon u got a dead board in which case i suggest

if dont want to spemnd too much but same overclocking optential as ur board

cheap p35 (prob ip35)

or if want nice new mobo, asus p5q or gigabyte EP45-ds3
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

out of curiosity what psu was this?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
actually i have a 680i and i doubt its too old xD even if you bought at release it wouldnt be too old. the reading " - - " can actually mean anything. so ur best bet is to check all your connections, i guess you could check if your mobo is bent but i doubt it. a big one with the 680i is, make sure you have the molex plug near your memory dimms plugged in even if your not using sli, because alot of times video cards dont get enough juice. otherwise i rekon u got a dead board in which case i suggest

if dont want to spemnd too much but same overclocking optential as ur board

cheap p35 (prob ip35)

or if want nice new mobo, asus p5q or gigabyte EP45-ds3
he needs an nvidia mobo as im sure he wants to continue using both of his 8800s.

i just got an XFX 780i from newegg for a rig i am building for a customer and holy crap it is awesome (looking anyway...haven't quite started building it yet).
or a P5N-D would be a rather inexpensive alternative.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Newegg.com - EVGA 132-YW-E178-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI FTW ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Try that out..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Great info guys. I've already rehooked everything in my PC and taken things apart. Nothings misshaped or unplugged. I do have the power connector plugged in for my Video Cards on the Mobo. The PSU was a Corsair 620W. I believe it went out on a 1000 mile move. Got knocked around too much.

I'm not too worried about price so the 780i is looking pretty hot. Good board for later upgrades. Now there's a $30 difference between the EVGA and XFX 780i board. Is there any major differences? I typically go with EVGA and I still will if there's nothing significantly different.

Thanks again!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

The one I posted was the eVGA 780i FTW board

Its a 780i thats modified by eVGA with extra features...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

Oh you're right... I just looked over some of the features. I think I'm going to go ahead and buy the EVGA 780i. Thanks guys!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 06:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: I need a new Mother Board...

i didnt see he had dual cards,in that case 780i ftw will do.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Mother board Set up shenvoid01 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 06-28-2008 05:35 PM
Problems with Mother board crash32 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-23-2008 02:19 AM
Mother board... augest Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-01-2008 06:32 PM
My mother board 32 bit or 64bit? HELP! Nekrage Microsoft Windows and Software 8 12-01-2007 10:22 PM
Mother Board Caught on Fire!! What to Do! zetahammy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-06-2007 05:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.