I need more ram... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2007, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default I need more ram...

I have the following setup, and I want to upgrade to 2gb (1gb x 2) instead of 1gb (512mb x 2).

AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.6ghz (290x9)
eVGA nVIDIA 7800GT
g.Skill TCCD 1gb (512mb x 2) DDR600
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert

I have the "outdated" DDR ram which in my opinion there is nothing wrong with, but I need some good ram that can handle ddr600 speeds. Anyone have any brilliant ideas?

I have been out of the loop for a while so I don't know what is good anymore.

Thanks,

-Mitchell
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: I need more ram...

well the ram you have is actually pretty good.. ddr600 is about as good as it it gets for DDR ram... but if i were to look for anything.. go check out newegg... if i remember right, i used to have me some g.skill ddr500, had some sexy black heat spreaders!

don't know if you're gonna find yourself some ddr600.. havent seen too much of that around
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: I need more ram...

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 550 (PC 4400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
over priced stuff :/

but thats only ddr550
darksideleader is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default Re: I need more ram...

I know I have legit ram already. I am looking to stay dual channel and not fill all four slots. To do this, I have to get new ram 2gb (1gb x 2). I have searched newegg alot, but I didn't know if anyone knew of anyone 1gb sticks that overclocked really well. DDR600 1gb sticks are non-existent, but something should be able to clock that high.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
ram? david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-24-2007 11:55 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.