I need help with building my computer. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default I need help with building my computer.

Do I have to plug in the smaller power cable on the motherboard? As you can see im having trouble getting it up to where it needs to go. If I do is there an extension I can buy or something?

__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

Those cases, are a little challenge, when the PSU is at the bottom. You could get an extension, or just have it around the other way.

edit: Is that an 8-pin CPU power connector? I heard it's only necessary to provide enough stability, when running a quad core. I'm not 100% sure though. Wait for someone else to answer.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

I would unplug all the cables and pull the far away connections first - later the shorter.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

You will most likely NEED to use the processor power slot. In most cases, people who fail to do so risk harming their PC and most computers won't boot with it. And if you really can't go from the back, just go across the motherboard, one cable won't impede that much air. Its much better than spending $8.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

And also, if I'm correct, that is the P180 case? Which doesn't have a window, so you won't see one wire going across the motherboard.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
And also, if I'm correct, that is the P180 case? Which doesn't have a window, so you won't see one wire going across the motherboard.
It'll haunt his subconscious forever though....knowing theres that one SINGLE cable thats "untidy"
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

yeah, I don't like those "up side down" cases

But yes just to be safe I would say you have to (learn from my mistakes) :P
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

I was able to get the cable to plug in. But it was a pain.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 04:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: I need help with building my computer.

lol i had trouble getting mine in to with the tuniq in the way
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

« memory | DVD Drive »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Building Help internationalballr New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-22-2007 04:06 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.