I NEED HELP (800$ budget) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Exclamation I NEED HELP (800$ budget)

i have an 800$ budget for a new PC which i need badly because mine suck everything is from 2002 exept new ram.

My current specs: Dell 4500s from 2002
1.8ghz P4 no ht
768mb RAM
40gig Serial 150
Fx5500 256mb
crappy onboard sound
Dont know everything else like the mobo cause i dont care i just know it can only run HL2 on low settings.

now here is my new system;
Case
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811144103

Mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813130491

PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817103937

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103535

RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820220037

Hard Drive:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822144701

Monitor:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16824197002

Dual layer dvd drive:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827131253

keyboard:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16823174002

Mouse:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16826161101

As you might of noticed i still need video but my budget is about up.
i have a Fx5500 that i might be able to use until i get enough money next year for a 6800GT or even a 7800GT.

so should i use the card i have now or change some things to get a good card now?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Don't get that DVD drive. All it is is a lite on DVD RW which you can buy for $40.

You can't use your current Graphics card since it is not PCI Express.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

ok im not changing the dvd drive just for the fact that its reads and writes dual layer discs and everyone thinks my Fx5500 is agp when its PCI which i can still use on my new comp
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

aren't you forgetting an operating system?
__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

nope ive already got one from a friend that he didnt need. Windows XP home edition
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

CD Key used it will apear as two hardware profiles on the same key something you may want to avoid.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 11:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

im thinking of using linux as a OS but i dont know much about it only used it once and dont know if its good for gaming
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 01:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrZucchiniHead
ok im not changing the dvd drive just for the fact that its reads and writes dual layer discs and everyone thinks my Fx5500 is agp when its PCI which i can still use on my new comp
u can only use PCI-E on that motherboard...
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 02:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

why cant you use a pci video card on a mobo that uses both PCI and PCI-E?
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I didn't know it was PCI. It WILL work.

As for the DVD drive, the $40 Lite-On OEM is the same without Sony packaging and the Sony faceplate.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.