I must be really unlucky OR Why 2GB is better - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2006, 04:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default I must be really unlucky OR Why 2GB is better

Finally figured out the core of one of my issues: Bad RAM


All kinds of chaos from random program exits, to windows update failure. And after 3 OS installs or so I decide to use my last blank CD to run memtest86 and bingo, oodles of RAM errors. Luckily my RAM had a duel channel setup for 2GB which would've sucked if it was one stick.

My ram setup was like this:

Stick A in slot 1, Stick B in slot 2

I do the first test by removing stick B from the board, still get errors.

I then remove stick A and place stick B in slot 1.

Bingo! No errors! (I'm a lot better at this point because I know it's not a bigger issue)

Just to be sure, I insert stick A in slot 2 and it causes errors again.

I can now assume that stick A is a bad stick.

All the errors had the 2nd bit wrong, so it must be something with that. if memtest did FFFFFFFF it would probably have FCFFFFFF with the C bit always being the wrong one.

So now i'm down to 1GB but it sure beats not having a PC, I can probably get the OS to install properly now.

This was premium OCZ ram too, i'm just about to head to their site to see about getting it replaced. I'll let you guys know how it works out.

This gives a few lessons that I've and others should learn.
1) Dual Channel RAM is also failsafe compared to a single stick
2) ALWAYS run memtest86 before installing OS/etc, it really saves a lot of problems
3) In hindsight, a floppy drive might not have been a bad idea. I gotta go buy more CDs now. :-P
__________________

zdude255 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

1) isn't exactly failsafe... if you buy crap brand you could come up with 2 bad sticks..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 05:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default

Not entirely failsafe, but more probable that you'll have working RAM.

Say ACME brand RAM has a 1/100 chance of being a bad stick. Dual channel sticks then have a .01 * .01 = .0001 chance of both sticks not working.

But even so I did buy a good brand of RAM, so I just got unlucky.
zdude255 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 08:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i question your probability calculations!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.