I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2008, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

Title says it all. I installed Windows Vista Ultimate in my computer but I feel I would get better performance with XP. I popped in the XP disc and it doesn't let me install it. Is there any way I can downgrade to it?
__________________

guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

Boot from the XP CD, and use that setup instead, and format the drive first, then install XP
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

not if u want to keep all your data. the best way is to backup all your data first then do a clean boot and wipe your hard drive first. if you do want to keep everything, a good idea can be to make a partion and put everything you want in there then just wipe the other partion with nothing on it and install windows on there.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

yea, you have to do a clean install
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

Find Windows XP drivers for the hardware first. If some aren't available, it might be a good idea to learn to love Vista.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 06-14-2008, 01:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

If you're talking about a desktop, the others have it covered. If you're talking about a laptop that shipped with Vista, you better hit up the manufacturer's website for drivers.

Clean installs are nice ^.^ But Vista is pretty nice IMHO. Once I started using the new Vista, I would never go back to XP. You just have to have an open mind about things. Of course my laptop is running 3.5GB system memory and almost 2GB Video memory so... Vista runs great. But hey, to each his own.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 06-14-2008, 05:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

Vista looks like and all but everyone has been telling me that you will get better performance with XP. Also a lot of my motherboards features are not supported by Vista like the remote control and wifi. Its the Asus P5W DH Deluxe. So I downloaded a bootleg copy of XP and they found out and now want me to verify the copy. Luckily it was on my old HP computer.
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

vista is a resource hog but, there shouldn't be a single worry as long as you have a pretty decent system. I certainly recommend 4gb using Vista.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

Cant you disable them?
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I have Vista but I want to down grade to XP. How do I do it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
vista is a resource hog but, there shouldn't be a single worry as long as you have a pretty decent system. I certainly recommend 4gb using Vista.
4gb for a gamer
2gb for a casual user is my recommendation

I didn't find Vista to be a resource hog at all....

try using those 99 tweaks for Vista, and you will notice quite the performance jump
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.