I have a proc question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2006, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Arrow I have a proc question

i want to put this proc in my 754 mobo. yes it 754 lol. im not upgrading until i completely have to. right now i have a AMD 3000 in it and it has lasted 3 years through a bunch of games. but now i am noticing lag in call of duty 2. and no its not my ram or gpu. i have a gig of ram and a overclocked gainward 6800. i played throughout the whole game but once i got to the american campaigns it started lagging.

bottom line- SO OEM means proc only, no heatsink right??? i dont need a heatsink, i already have one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103010


thanks in advance-
HUNTER
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Default

Yes, OEM is "white box" processor only. I personally like those better but many of the newer AMDs are hard to find OEM.

Josh
__________________

M3Cosmos is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

ok so its still a brand new proc right??? just without a heatsink?
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hmammen
ok so its still a brand new proc right??? just without a heatsink?
from newegg:
Cooling Device | Cooling device not included - Processor Only

yes, it is brand new, no hsf
__________________
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...s/3/8/css1.jpg

AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.25Ghz | Zalman CNPS9500 | DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D | eVGA 7900GT KO SC | Zalman VF700 | 2 x 1GB Gskill PC 4000 | 2 x WD 320 GB HDD\'s | Audigy2 ZS | Logitech X-530s | Saitek Eclipse | Tsunami Dream
DarkS1d3 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

thanks
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.