I have a predicted build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2007, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default I have a predicted build

Ok i have thought about this over and over again and i think im ready to do this build. I am going to keep my HDD and my CPU but im replaceing the Celeron my old one im useing right now and going to put in my new build for a while and replace it with a Pentium D dual core 2.8Ghz. Just a quick question if i have XP installed on my computer now is it copyed to my HDD so if i just transfer that i dont need to make a back up. or do any sort of file transfer or redownload anything. Im going to go order my parts in tigerdirects retailer stores this weekend and have them send me my parts via Fedex. Here is the list of parts im useing I have an HDD and CD-DVD burner and Floppy drive if i need it and a Processer, im swaping a Celeron D my original for a Pentium D a dual core one when i get the extra money.

Case:Apevia Silver X-Cruiser Case ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side, Front USB, Audio and Firewire Ports X-CRUISER-AL at TigerDirect.com
PSU:Reviews for Apevia 500-Watt ATX Dual 80mm LED Fan Blue Aluminum, Clear Top Power Supply ATX-AS500W-BL at TigerDirect.com
Mobo:ECS 945GZT-M (v1.0) Intel Socket 775 MicroATX Motherboard Audio Video PCI Express 10100 Ethernet LAN USB 2.0 Serial ATA 945GZT-M V1.0 at TigerDirect.com
Graphics:EVGA GeForce 7900 GS KO 256MB GDDR3 SLI PCI Express Dual DVI HDTV Video Card 256-P2-N624-AR at TigerDirect.com
RAM:Buffalo Select 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 533MHz Memory D2U533B-1GBR at TigerDirect.com

Voice your opinion and some feedback if you have any. Thanks for seeing me through this thing.
__________________

DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I have a predicted build

Take A look at my Power supply Guide.
http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/up...-guide-137927/
As the one you chose, is, um, a POS...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: I have a predicted build

this psu look better? i took one off of the High to Medium End Gaming or workstation PC's, (This includes High end video cards (Single) and moderate to high overclocking )
paragraphs.

Ultra X-Finity 500-Watt ATX 120mm Fan SATA-Ready SLI-Ready Black Power Supply ULT31845 at TigerDirect.com

or would this be from the Medium to Low End Gaming machines paragraph o well leme know what you think
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: I have a predicted build

Err, don't use tigerdirect.. especially if you're buying a PSU from them.. horrible selection there. Get a 400w Fortron @ Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more! It'll run your system fine.

You might as well order everything there.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I have a predicted build

He might live in canada. But if he doesn't.
Newegg and Zipzoomfly definitly have better selections.
And ZZF has Free shipping on most products.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: I have a predicted build

I live in the US but i dont want to buy from Newegg they dont have any retailer stores in NC so thats why Im buying my stuff from tigerdirect. I have to buy all my stuff from them, I would that be a good PSU i dunno much about PSU's so is it good or not?
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I have a predicted build

Take a look at my power supply guide Linked in My sig.

^^ Brain fart.

Yea, the Ultra X finity is a big improvment over the Apevia.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: I have a predicted build

ok im sticking to the second one i found its cheaper and it was on your list.
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: I have a predicted build

Ok im ordering tommorow! This is going to be awsome do you think this is going to run Rainbow 6:Vegas? What about FEAR or Bf2. what about with a celeron or pentium D dual core?
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 04:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: I have a predicted build

Tigerdirect is overpriced man. You will get more for your money at Newegg or Zipzoomfly. Highly recommend another place.

With a 7900GS you won't need 500w really but it's fine.

What res are you going to be playing at?

I'd say it should be able to max out at 1024x840 but may have a little trouble maxing out beyond that becuase of only 1gb ram. Still It should be able to offer you very good performance still and you won't be disappointed.
__________________

Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.