I have a few questions on performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2008, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default I have a few questions on performance

alright I have had my new build now for a while and I have 2 Radeon HD3870s overclocked edition, and I assume that its in crossfire but is there a way that I can check just to be 100% sure its using crossfire? Also I have started to play with overclocking on my CPU, still new at it though, and is there a program I can get that will tell me the temp on my CPU? I have a temp on my ATI Control Center and the temps there are great but with being new to CPU overclocking I really want to keep an eye on that. thanks ^_^
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

you should have a copy of asus probe that came with your motherboard. you can also check out the overclocking sticky Overclocking Section Sticky Index and from there you can get to this guide Howto: Overclock C2q (quads) And C2d (duals) - A Guide V1.7 - OverclockersClub Forums These and other research should get you on the right track. the second link recommends other temp software as well. Good Luck
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
you should have a copy of asus probe that came with your motherboard. you can also check out the overclocking sticky Overclocking Section Sticky Index and from there you can get to this guide Howto: Overclock C2q (quads) And C2d (duals) - A Guide V1.7 - OverclockersClub Forums These and other research should get you on the right track. the second link recommends other temp software as well. Good Luck
Thanks for the links.. those will be very helpful
asusfreak44 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

ok well I found and installed PC probe and love it thanks for tellin me about that one, but What about the Xfire question? How do I know that when I play games and stuff Xfire is enabling? If its in PC Probe could you tell me where to check? or some ideas? thanks
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

you can turn crossfire on and off in the catalyst driver. That is how you know and how you can see that it is turned on. I just saw a huge problem. You are going to have to change your name. How can you be amd6415 amd run an intel chip? It is blasphemy. ;-)
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
you can turn crossfire on and off in the catalyst driver. That is how you know and how you can see that it is turned on. I just saw a huge problem. You are going to have to change your name. How can you be amd6415 amd run an intel chip? It is blasphemy. ;-)
:laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing:
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

ok thanks for the help ... and on the SN... I shoulda made it better but at the time as far as I knew AMD was top dog pretty much for gaming so I figured that I was gonna stay on that side lol
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: I have a few questions on performance

Some games like cod4 have the option of dual video cards, my knowledge with xfire and sli is pretty limited I would certaintly guess that when you play a game it's using some of both cards.
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista SP1 Performance and Tuning, Courtesy of Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-30-2008 06:47 PM
OC BFG 7900GS performance questions krazyq Overclocking and Modding 58 08-27-2007 06:49 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.