i have $5000 to spend on a computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2006, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default i have $5000 to spend on a computer

I have $5000 to spend on a computer and i wanted to know your thoughts on what i should buy.

I use my computer for gaming so i need good graphics etc.

dextroix is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

Core 2 extreme , X1900XT, raptors, gskill 2GB, antec 600W

PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202

A nice big display. Like a 30incher =) Really thats alot of money to spend on a computer. But nevertheless Id go for a 7950GX2 if your a big gamer.
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

I'd say thats probably too much. You can build an awesome computer for $2-3k. And use the remaining to buy other stuff.


b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

cpu: e6600 or higher
mobo: some fancy asus core2duo mobo
ram: 2gbs of corsair pc2 6400 w/ tight timings.. (or even mushkin.. i believe they have even tigher timings..)
gpu: i'd get 2 x1950xtx's in crossfire. you would get more performance from two 7950gx2's in quad sli, but with the 1950's you get nicer lookin picture, and the ability to run HDR and other eye candy stuff AT THE SAME TIME. and with 2 of those, you'd be hard pressed to find a game that WON'T allow you to do that.
HDDs: 2 raptors in raid 0, two 320gbs or w/e for storage..
PSU: either the ocz 700watt gamextreme, or a pc power and cooling 1k watt or something..
case: something big!
monitor: something BIG.. and cleeeaarrrr!!! 22inch minimum.

what i miss? i could go through and show you the actual parts... but....
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 02:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18

cheers guys
dextroix is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 03:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

x1950xtx's in my opinion.. why.. i don't know? to be different :-D
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

send $2500 here, and i'll tell the rest
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 06:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004

i wouldnt get 2 x1950's from what ive seen and read theyre arent **** copared to the 7850's all it seems to be is a x1900xtx with gddr4, while the nvidia is prettymuch 2 512 cards in one, get one now and when quad sli is less buggy get another one.
fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857

check out this RAM:


it'd be a lot of money to waste though.

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.