I finally Ordered All Components - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default I finally Ordered All Components

1 - AMD X2 4800+ Toledo
1 - ASUS A8N32 SLI Delux
1 - G5 Mouse
1 - Saitek Keyboard
1 - Centruion 5 Case
2 - NEC 3540A Optical Drives
2 - WD Cavalier 250 Gb Sata 3.0 HD's
1 - Sony Floppy Drive
1 - XFX 7800GTX OC (490MHz/1300MHz)
1 - X-Fi Extreme Music Sound Card
1 - Logitec 5500 Surround Sound Speakers
1 - 2 Gb Corsair XMS3500LL Pro
1 - Samsung 930B LCD
1 - Windows XP w/SP2
1 - Antec TrueControl 550W PS

This is what I am using for my first build. This system should kick A** for a while. What do you think??
__________________

WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I will go to 64bit OS when vista is released, and then I will purchase 2 more Gb of Ram and maybe another Video card for SLI or a PhysX card depending on the software available to support it.
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

You won't need 4gb ram, it will slow your system down, 2.5 gb at the max until it's really required, why did you get xfx? they are known bad quality products, I thought some of the members here would have told you to get eVGA or leadtek, but I guess not. I have no rag on XFX it's just from what I've heard on multiple forums, they die easily, and their warranties are crap.

Other then that, nice system, should last you a good long time. ( next christmas or more)
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

actually xfx has like a fool proof warranty, which attempts to make up for the not so greatly made card. It's got like a double lifetime warranty.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
2 gb OCZ dual channel platinum
512mb 7900GTX (eVGA)
250gb 16mb WD HD
3550a Dvd/cd rw/r (NEC)
Thermaltake Full Alum. Armor Case
Rmaia is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

XFX states that their warrenty repairs and services the card as long as I own it. All I have to do is register it on thier site. That sound good to me. I did not hear that XFX is crap, It had recieved good reviews in all articles I read about it.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I've heard mixed things about XFX. They were terrible back in the GeForce FX days, and I have also heard bad things about their 6600GT. Im not sure how they are on their higher end cards though. This computer will easily own every game until Unreal Tournament 2007 is released on Unreal Engine 3, which then it will be a whole new ballgame for us all.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Your system will handle UT 2007 just fine. There is no way Epic is going to make the system specs so high. UT is a community game and they will not make it so only a few can actually play it. Yes I have seen the screen shots but those are probably maxed out on an über computer.

this goes for the companies that use the Unreal Engine 3.0 for their games as well.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
Your system will handle UT 2007 just fine. There is no way Epic is going to make the system specs so high. UT is a community game and they will not make it so only a few can actually play it. Yes I have seen the screen shots but those are probably maxed out on an über computer.

this goes for the companies that use the Unreal Engine 3.0 for their games as well.
It will really help to have a 64-bit OS, because UT2007 will make full use of it and only a 64-bit OS will be able to play it with full textures.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

So upgrading to window Vista when its available will pretty much do the trick then since it will be 64 bit
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WWS
So upgrading to window Vista when its available will pretty much do the trick then since it will be 64 bit
It will help, althogh the magnitude of this engine will pretty much render all of today's hardware obsolete.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.