I dont know what to do - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2007, 05:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default I dont know what to do

My $500 dollar HP Pavilion crashed on me last week and now I am stuck using my old Sony Vaio. When I turn on the computer, it wont log me in. For example: I will click my name on the windows login, type my password and hit enter. It will say loading personal preferences blah blah blah, and then 5 seconds later, it will say logging out. I know how to fix that, but I have a lot of things on that hard drive that I cant access. I believe it is a SATA hard drive, so I was wondering if there is any way to access that hard drive before I do a system recovery. With my old AATA or whatever its called, I needed to buy a hard drive enclosure and plug the hard drive into another computer using USB. Do I need to do the same with SATA hard drives?
__________________

guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Try booting in safe mode. Also, try a logging in to a different account on the computer if there is one to see if it does the same thing.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 06:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KingAustin
Try booting in safe mode. Also, try a logging in to a different account on the computer if there is one to see if it does the same thing.
tried all of that. tried logging into other accounts, tried logging into every account in safe mode...nothing. i know what happened, my windows crashed. i called HP and they told me to pay then 45 dollars so they can help me out, but i yelled at them so much they helped me for free. before i fix the computer, i just need to get my files off the drive. all i need to know is if i need another hard drive enclosure for my SATA drive.
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 06:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Yes, you can do the same thing you did with your IDE HD with an SATA drive and you will need to buy a new enclosure since they aren't the same type.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

Plug the hardrive in another computer, dont run the computer off that hardrive then try to open the files as like it is a external hardrive. Because you have a password the filles will be locked, so you will have to find a way to hack it. Or run the other computer off the hardrive thats screwed, try to go into your account like normal, then back up the files, wipe it, then plug it back into your hp and try to log in.
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IceKoldKilla
Plug the hardrive in another computer, dont run the computer off that hardrive then try to open the files as like it is a external hardrive. Because you have a password the filles will be locked, so you will have to find a way to hack it. Or run the other computer off the hardrive thats screwed, try to go into your account like normal, then back up the files, wipe it, then plug it back into your hp and try to log in.
I tried that with my last hard drive. The only difference was the computer was already running and as soon as i plugged in the hard drive, windows completely froze on me. As soon as i unplugged the hard drive, it unfroze on me. The guy at Fry's Electronics told me that is a security thing Windows has for XP. Would it be different for a SATA drive?
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

It's not wise or recommended to plug things in while the computer is turned on..
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.