I did it!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default I did it!!

Well i talked to my girl, and as an early xmas present, shes helpin me out so i ordered the 8800gt 256mb off newegg along with a third lightscribe burner!!! cant wait to get it!!!
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: I did it!!

Good for you! Hope you show us some benchmarks on that thing. Maybe before and after from that dinky 8500GT.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: I did it!!

Yeah i dunno what the **** i was thinking when i ordered it, i could have gotten a 7600gt for the same price. To tell you the truth, my 7300gt agp was more powerful lol.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: I did it!!

Try to vmod the 8500, and clock it to the max just for the **** of it. Also, now youve got your 8800GT, you must overclock that X2 to decrease the bottleneck. And then maybe we could do battle like you said
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I did it!!

Actually the 8500Gt is a good card for htpcs. So when you get your 8800gt just list it on ebay using that angle. I have an 8500 in my media pc and its nice. It has the onboard HD decoding so it can be used for blu-ray and hddvd.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: I did it!!

Yeah i still need to be able to sell it so im not gonna destroy it. Its the passive cooling version, so thats a plus cause people dont want noisy htpc's. I may even list it here, its practically new.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: I did it!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Yeah i still need to be able to sell it so im not gonna destroy it. Its the passive cooling version, so thats a plus cause people dont want noisy htpc's. I may even list it here, its practically new.
If you do, I hope you have better luck selling than me.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I did it!!

Ya i have the MSI passive cooling one. Sucker gets HOT though, so i put a fan blowing on it on the side panel, seems to help. But its only an 80mm fan, need to replace it with a 120mm as the 80mm has a pretty high pitch whine that i can hear when its quiet in the room.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.