I caved in.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2010, 05:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I caved in..

Just run 3DMark06 and Vantage for now and then Benchmark your games as you play them. If they don't have a Benchmark you can use FRAPS, I have the registered version

FRAPS show fps, record video game movies, screen capture software

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
Where did you pre-order from? You might have better chance canceling and just camping out some sites, because there are a lot of people who have done that very thing and have received their shipments before anyone got their pre-orders.
Amazon, I've been checking a few sites regularly but the EVGA models don't last long. I can cancel my Amazon order at anytime so I'll wait.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 07:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: I caved in..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Just run 3DMark06 and Vantage for now and then Benchmark your games as you play them. If they don't have a Benchmark you can use FRAPS, I have the registered version

FRAPS show fps, record video game movies, screen capture software



Amazon, I've been checking a few sites regularly but the EVGA models don't last long. I can cancel my Amazon order at anytime so I'll wait.
My PC fails at 3dMark06, i have a good GPU and CPU and the rest is just crap. But i'll download it and give it a shot, along with Vantage.

And yeh i upgraded from a 512mb ATI 4870. Can't wait till the 470 arrives later today

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Nice
Thanks. The performance from reviews is slightly disappointing at this point in time considering cost/heat/power consumption but i am hoping it is more driver related, it would explain why the card is so inconsistent - with some games beating the 5870 by a decent margin and on others it falling quite a bit behind the 5850, the GTX280 even beats it in some games, worryingly. Then again, that is on the basis that all these reviews are totally legit and haven't been at all bias to either red or green sides. Whatever happens though the end result is that it's a substantial upgrade over my current card.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I caved in..

Nice buy

edit: but holy crap! You guys get screwed with VAT!
We have GST, but it's only 10%
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: I caved in..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Just run 3DMark06 and Vantage for now and then Benchmark your games as you play them. If they don't have a Benchmark you can use FRAPS, I have the registered version

FRAPS show fps, record video game movies, screen capture software



Amazon, I've been checking a few sites regularly but the EVGA models don't last long. I can cancel my Amazon order at anytime so I'll wait.
Yeah there's a huge thread over at hardforum about people who pre-ordered their ATi 5850's back in October and are just now getting them this month :O at least they are getting it for MSRP though.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: I caved in..

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Nice buy

edit: but holy crap! You guys get screwed with VAT!
We have GST, but it's only 10%
Yeah, 17.5percent.

Got the card and psu, paid like $17 extra to get it delivered after 12pm, and guess what they tried to deliver it at 10:50am. Luckily my neighbour noticed and signed for it.

The performance seems fantastic. The card seems really efficient at AA. I get the same fps with BFBC2 at maximum settings, with 32xCSAA as i did with my 4870 at medium with no AA.

Same with JC2, people said the physx enabled water really screws up your fps - but with everything at max, 32xCSAA, bokeh filter, SSAO, physx enabled water - it was still smooth and lucked gorgeous. Again, runs better than the 4870 could manage at medium/high with no AA.

The additional video memory is really useful on GTA4 too, although it still manages to use 1.15gb at maximum settings This game struggles a little more, hovers around 30fps. But then the game is very CPU intensive so maybe thats my downfall, and the game is 17gb in size whilst i only have 3gb of ram at the moment (discovered with 4th 1gb module is broke). That said, it's still playable at highest settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
Yeah there's a huge thread over at hardforum about people who pre-ordered their ATi 5850's back in October and are just now getting them this month :O at least they are getting it for MSRP though.
Availability in the US and Canada seems a much bigger issue than it is here. Only for the first 1 or 2 weeks when a good card is first released might you have to preorder it. And even then new stock arrives every 2 or 3 days usually, so at most you wait about 5 days i fine. 95percent of the time when a card like the GTX470 has just been released you can always find it in stock somewhere, and any card thats been out 1 or 2 months is always in stock on places like ebuyer.com
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 08:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: I caved in..

EU is bigger into pc gaming than NA, so that makes sense.

Isn't the ps3 more popular everywhere in Europe than 360 everywhere except like the UK?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: I caved in..

Probably.. all my friends have 360's, so it sounds about right.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 05:43 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: I caved in..

Yeah, from what I've seen, that's correct.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 11:04 AM   #19 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: I caved in..

I could really get used to launching every game, putting it in max settings and playing with a smooth frame rate As long as i don't go to ridiculous levels of AA, i haven't found a game that doesn't run >30fps at max, which is all you really need for an enjoyable experience.

My next plan is to get a new Mobo and SLI these things with three 3D screens and nVidia's 3D Vision. Cost would be around 1000, but it'd be pretty sweet.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 11:32 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I caved in..

Are you still crashing when running 3DMark06 and Vantage?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.