I Am Pleased To Announce..... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2006, 01:12 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

I am happy to finally see these babies out on the open market;

However, I still do not believe the new AM2 socket will be enough of a performance increase to truely compete with the new intel conroe.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 01:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Well we can see form the benchmarks that there isn't really much performance increase at all.
Factor in the high cost of DDR2 800 and the high price for the FX62 and it becomes an entirely untenable proposition. Who will pay these prices for a few precent performance over the FX60?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

There is definitely no reason to upgrade from a socket 939 setup to an AM2 setup at this point, but if you were building new, and dead set on AMD, it would definitely be the way to go for future upgrade purposes. K8L/quad cores will be coming out next year and will almost surely be available for AM2 only.

Of course, I'll be picking up a Core 2 Duo in a couple of months
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

So I shouldn't upgrade? It would be about 360$ for a dual core 3800+ CPU and AM2 motherboard.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=31874

Don't jump on too quickly.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

am2 is selling for the same price as the other amd processors

if you are gonna upgrade to another AMD then you might as well go AM2

but hey it STILL comes down to your own personal decision.
the AM2's are greatly priced and they arent bad at all

sure conroe has the full potential to spank the shii out of AM2 but as of today not many people need anything more then what AMD is providing.

it comes down to looking at price.
we will see how much conroes are gonna come for (idk if they have released a price as of now)

lets not start an AMD/Intel argument here. we are all mature enough to just wait a little while and see what happens.

from what i can see conroe is going to be better.
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:54 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

In about a year my computer is going to suck, so I have to think about upgrading. I think that I will just wait until Conroe, since I want to see what Intel has to offer, and it will probably take me that much time to get the money anyway. Besides, GeForce 8 is comming out soon anyway...
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:57 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dante_Caligari
So I shouldn't upgrade? It would be about 360$ for a dual core 3800+ CPU and AM2 motherboard.
And how much for the low latency DDR2-800 that you need to see any performance improvement over s939?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 03:00 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

the new gforce is comming out begining of next year.

with vista

and dx10
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 03:27 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
You mean like this...

Link
The site spelled "booty" wrong, plus its like theinquirer...
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.