I am officially stupid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default I am officially stupid

well,somehow i managed to strip the heads of the screws for my rear exhaust. so today i get my new fan and i put it in as an intake so i go to unscrew and chance it. they wont unscrew. i guess my drill stripped the heads and now i cant get them out. what can i do?!!!
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Magent W/ Force. Or a Small Grabber.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

what is a small grabber? any magnet should suck it out?
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

jam a handscrew driver in extremelyhard and loosen it, its extremely easy metal to mold, if u press hard enough it will dent it enough to get it out, it works for me
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

if you have a dremel tool grind a slot in the screws that a flat screwdriver will fit into and screw it out.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Default

a dremel tool would work best, but the screw head may be to small for that option.
any hardware strore will have a tool for removing striped screws
it kinda looks like a drill bit, with the threading on backwards.
BRreed is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

i dont think some of u guys understand. i dont thik the actual screw is stripped, but the head somehow got shaved away by my drill, so the drill bit no longer has any force to it because it doesnt fit. i got one of the 3 screws out using these bent nose pliers, but am having trouble witht he other two because they arent out of the case far enough
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Just drill the screw head off with a drill bit a little smaller then the head of the screw but larger than the threaded part of the screw, Then take the fan off and unscrew the remaining part of the screw with a pliers.

You probably stripped the screw head by using a screwbit the wrong size.

Good luck
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Magent W/ Force. Or a Small Grabber.
snt even putting a magnet near a computer a bad idea..?
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

wow i have 1 left but it wont budge at all. this is ****ing me off.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.