HP or GATEWAY AMD 64x2 4400+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default HP or GATEWAY AMD 64x2 4400+

Does anyone out there know if there is going to be a 4400 from Gateway or HP anytime soon? I am in the market for a new multimedia PC and I want an AMD 4400. There is a 4200 for both but if a 4400 is coming out I can wait. Thanks.
__________________

tluv00 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

A 4400 is pretty high end. idk. A 3800 could easily overclock to a 4400 though so why not stick with one of those?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

So if I went with the 4200 I would be getting a good PC? I can get one through work with a great discount and can use that discount to upgrade the standard video and audio card to something better. I basically want to use it for downloading movies and burning them, home videos and pictures as well as graduate studies for my wife. Should that fit the bill? Thanks.
tluv00 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

An X2 3800+ is a great CPU that can be overclocked to a 4200+ if you want to do that. Although if you have the money then buy the 4400+ it has 1MB L2 cache compared to the 3800+ and 4200+.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

That's cool. Will overclocking ruin any warranty and what side effects does it have? I am not that much of a computer geek (no offense intended) but I want to learn more. I also don;t want to build my own which a lot of people have told me to do. I would rather have the security of a warranty.
tluv00 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Yes it will ruin the warranty, i dont even believe its possible to oc pre-builts like gateway, or hp's. I dont think that they will be selling pc's with the x2 4400+. Try places like cyberpowerinc.com. monarchcomputers, for pc's that will have the x2 4400+.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I was on the HP website. I was looking at a reg. desktop with the 4400 vs the 4200 reg. For someone who will basically be downloading movies and burning, doing pics, schoolwork and internet surfing is the jump from 4200 to 440o necessary or should I save the $80 for something else?
tluv00 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

get the 4200+ it`ll be fine for what your doing and spend the left over money on a big hard drive or a couple of smaller ones.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

That sounds like a plan. I will probably do the 4200, a 320 GB hard drive (160 x 2) upgrade the graphics and video card and get an external harddrive for backup and portability. The 4200 looks like it willl run fast enough and with 480 GB of harddrive space I should be fine. Thanks a lot!
__________________

tluv00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.