Hows this setup - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2007, 04:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

NO

dont get a single core

why does eveyone think that dual core is bad for gaming????

ITS NOT!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

instead of amd c2d is right now better couple extra bucks http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005 or the 4300 which you can just overclock.
and which vid card getting just takes me too a whole thing of video cards list but if do change processor then gonna need dif mobo
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

All the new games are going to see an increase in Dual Core, Oblivion already does see quite an increase when you run Dual Core.

And yea unless your on a tight budget, the C2D are quite a bit better after overclock. Stock for the money they are very close but still the C2D is better at most things.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default

yeah i believe ill change the cpu, so heres it and the new mobo with the graphics card, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005 , http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102067 , http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131142
__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default

if the link to the graphics card doesnt work, heres the name , SAPPHIRE 100186L Radeon X1950XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 VIVO HDCP Video Card
__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

The mobo and card are EXCELLENT choices. Although the mobo is not the best for that price. The DS3 right here is A LOT better and overclocks awesome. The P5N barley overclocks at all and just isn't the best board. The only thing that it has good is it has 2 PCI-E slots. Although SLI never really is worth it...

Get this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138037

or this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012

both are amazing motherboards and you can't beat them for the price.

The DS3 has a few more features like RAID
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default

yeah the DS3 sounds like a better choice, alot better for oc'ing, so ill go with it instead...lol...then when i do get it all ill have to learn how to oc with it...lol
__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 05:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

OC isn't hard, build that system and send me a message and i'll help you. Much safer than people think too.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 05:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Default

cool, thanks for all your help. i should have it all in about a month or less, have to get a little more money.
__________________
All Wars are civil wars because all men are brothers.
edwardopowers is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 05:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If you're going to OC, go with the E4300. It will go much further than the E6300.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.