Hows this build. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 04:06 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

Yeah, as you can see on teh first page, I was about to buy a conroe. Then I realized that I just need to wait for AMD to rebound. They have been loyal providers to us for years, so why not give them a chance. I guess I will buy a AMD 64 3800, with the socket being AM2, so I can upgrade to a better AMD X2 or X3 later on. This brings me to my next question. Should I get an x1800xt oem, and wait for the next gen, or should I get the x1900xt right now?
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:18 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

x1900xt's are great cards. but with the incoming os vista, comes the new dx10. its the newest next gen gpu. when that comes out you will probably be able to get the x1900xt for almost half of the price. so if you can i say wait and then buy it. or just buy it now. the dx10 is going to be VERY pricey, and the 1900xt will be able torun anything you want it to for a very long time. so either wait and get it cheap or get it now.

DX10
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:20 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr DMoney
This conversation has made me want am3 chips god I was really think conroe in a few months I guess not now.
lol. i wanted a conroe too until i really thought it through.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:37 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

my problem is waiting on DX 10, im definately going with a socket AM2 right now, so i can upgrade later on, plus it's cheaper. But i don't know wether to wait on DX 10 or not. How far will a DX 9 card go as far as games before they're totaly incompatible? And ive asked around on this and got a few different answers, when are DX 10 cards coming out?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:41 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

YEARS. you do not need a dx10 card AT ALL. thats just crazy. you will be fine for at least a couple years with a good dx9 card. dx 10 is only for crazy people who need the latest and greatest as of now.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:53 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Ok. Will you need a DX 10 card to run Vista? Thats the only real thing holding me back. Im not interested in Vista as much as im interested in Halo2 vista.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:19 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

...no you dont need a dx10 card to run vista
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:20 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

So should I get a 7600GT and wait for step up to kick in before upgrading? Or should i just get me the x1900xt? What is more efficient when considering cost + effectiveness in games
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:22 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

7900GT. they are pretty much the same performance in 1280x1024 resolution. its only in the higher resolutions where the x1900xt pulls ahead.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 05:44 PM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Well than i think i wont wait on DX 10. I don't need super high end graphics, i just wanna be able to play games on reasonable settings with no lag, unlike the card i have now. I think it's a geforce 5200. I have to turn the settings all the way on low in every game i have, and most of them still lag And i play some older games like Halo pc C&C generals, and i recently got Americas army(got it for free on at fort knox on vacation ) I don't even try americas army anymore, it lags...
As far as Halo2 vista goes, as long as i can run it on at least medium so i can see all my bullets, and have good fps ill be fine. I plan on buying an x1900gt, i assume that should do me well for a while.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.