Hows this build. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default Hows this build.

I screwed my budget, and upped it by some.

How does this look

Case $28 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811166022

PSU $52
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

HHD $55
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152020

Ram $160
$http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16820227030R

Mobo $150
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16813128012

CPU $230

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819115005

GPU $120

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102688


I realize that the GPU isnt all high and everything, but I dont play too many games anymore, and apparantly this card is better than other cards of the same price range.

Is this an ok setup? Is it all compatible?

I also had conroe questions. Shoudl I buy this now? Or will the price drop anytime soon?
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

everything seems good, but dont get open box ram, sometimes it can be ok, but more than likeley u get the lemon that frys the mobo
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

^^ ditto on the open box ram. It's hard enough getting good ram that HASN'T been opened.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

Oh okay. Il switch it up and get retail.


Is it worth it to get a conroe right now?
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

nice build. i would say yes, its not a bad time to get conroe... since there's nothing being IMMEDIATELY released.. and in the computer industry thats all you can pretty much hope for... afaik no price cuts happening anytime soon.. although i could be wrong...

oh and i dare you to use the PSU with the case..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
nice build. i would say yes, its not a bad time to get conroe... since there's nothing being IMMEDIATELY released.. and in the computer industry thats all you can pretty much hope for... afaik no price cuts happening anytime soon.. although i could be wrong...

oh and i dare you to use the PSU with the case..
Thats what I figured too. ALso, I was surprised, I thought the 6300 was going to be 200, but its 230.

And are you volunteering to replace all the parts that I am going to fry by using this stock PSU? LMAO. But hey, that case looks awesome doesnt it? Elegant and aggresive at the same time.
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

do not buy the core 2 duo e6300. it comes with the allendale core and not the conroe core...
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
do not buy the core 2 duo e6300. it comes with the allendale core and not the conroe core...

yes, most people are aware of that. i'm sure he'll live with it. only difference is half the cache...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
yes, most people are aware of that. i'm sure he'll live with it. only difference is half the cache...
yeah but that takes all the sweetness right out of the infamous "conroe".

its not even a conroe.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

Well I read that you only see a 10% performance boost anyway, so whats the point in forking over 70 more bucks?

Unless I am wrong?
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.