how will this system run farcry? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2005, 01:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 85
Default how will this system run farcry?

3800+ x2
dfi ultra-d
2gb (1gbx2) corsair xms 2-3-3-6
bfg 7800 gtx oc (256 version)
__________________

Beyond is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Fine.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

LOL...i can't believe you are asking this. It will run Far Cry the best it can be run. Far Cry isn't that demanding on today's cards, being as the game as a year and a half old.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea your system will have no problems at all maxing that game out.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 02:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 85
Default

alright.. my cpu kind of worries me.. i haven't built the computer yet.. i have my mobo/cpu/ram sitting behind me right now..just waiting on the gc to come thursday..

will there be any games that i'll have problems with?

thanks guys!
Beyond is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 02:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

None at all. Even games based on the Unreal Engine 3 will run nicely. You can expect to run games maxed out for another 6 months or so, after that you can expect Med. settings on 1280x1024 resolution with 60-90fps.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 02:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 85
Default



sounds good to me ... thanks guys!
Beyond is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 02:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well IMO farcry is the biggest piece of sh**.......

I tried the demo, and it runs so slow, and i get major graphical glitches...
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 03:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

I have noticed that game demos run and look half-*** compared to the full version
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 03:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well someone told me that my problem would probably be fixed if i bought it and patched it....

And I dont want to blow $20 to find out.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.