How to Upgrade MOBO? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2007, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default How to Upgrade MOBO?

Sorry for this stupid question. If i currently have a motherboard that works but I want to upgrade how do I go about uninstalling and reinstalling a new mobo. Do I just pull the old one out and put the new one in and reinstall drivers? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: How to Upgrade MOBO?

Well if you want to keep all of your current components, you'll have to make sure that they're all compatible with the new mobo you're going to get. And if you have an OEM copy of Windows, you'll have to call MS to have them reactivate your copy of Windows,and you'll have to tell them that you replaced your mobo. Just tell them the other one went bad or something.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 11-05-2007, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: How to Upgrade MOBO?

Unfortunately, you'll need to reformat the HD and reinstall windows.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Re: How to Upgrade MOBO?

Okay, thats not that big of a deal. Thanks guys!
__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: How to Upgrade MOBO?

Usually when your motherboard is old enough to be updated, you won't be able to find one that is compatible with the rest of your hardware. You could be looking at needing a new CPU and RAM as well.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Upgrade for my comp. MoBo, RAM, Cooling. cementshoes New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-30-2007 12:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.