How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 75
Default How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

Hey guys since my mobo got fried recently.. I've been trying to figure out if my video card and CPU were affected or not.. So that way I can either tell a white lie and RMA or order new parts.

Well I went to my friends house who has a socket AM2 MOBO also and I brought my video card and cpu to his place and this is what happened.

I plugged in the video card turned on the power but nothing would appear on montior. If the monitor cable was not plugged in there would be a sign saying check signal cable. And if it was plugged in and turned on the power the screen remained blank and the power light would blink on and off.

As for the CPU.. I have no idea how to test it since i didn't see anything post lol but When i did turn on the computer everything seemed to run properly...well by listening to it. like all the PSU turned on.. fans in case went on.. HDD was rotating... and fan on video card was running.

If you guys know anyway to check or if you know whats going on with what i've been telling you... anything would help. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD 3600+ Brisbane 2.6ghz
MOBO: BioStar TForce 550SE
Ram: 2x G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 QRs
Video Card: ATI 1950xt 256mb
Case: Cooler Master Centurion 5
PSU: Corsaid 520HX
HSF: Arctic Cooler Freezer 64 PRo
zetahammy is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

well the cpu and the vid card or just one of them is screwed.... if it didn't work.... that or that motherboard doesn't support that cpu, or u forgot to plugin ur video card pci-e power adaptor... but ask some1 smarter on the forum...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

sounds like the vid card might have a prob since nuthing was on the screen. also isnt am2 the right slot for brisbanes? cpu im not really sure how to chek. unless u try run computer with ur cpu and his video card and see what happens
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

First I have to wonder how and why you think your motherboard is fried? Your obvious inexperience leads me to believe you're jumping to conclusions.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

whats a 7600 gts???
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
whats a 7600 gts???
look at his sig.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

That PCIe video card should power up on any board with a PCIe slot. If you have no video on another board....guess what? Card is a frisbee!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
whats a 7600 gts???

I think he confused it. But there is a 7600GTS. It's just rare. It's a cross between the GS and GT.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

Wow... Does That Mean Its Slower Than A Gt? Since Ur Saying Its Crossed
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How to Test Video Card and CPU To see if It still runs?

It's using the same chip as the GS but clocked to GT speeds. And I think it's cheaper than the GT. I guess basically, it's an overclocked 7600GS. But I believe the 7600GTS has GDDR3 memory, like the GT.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.