How SLI work in my computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2007, 12:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

The gain of SLI performance...4000 points in 3dmark06 :P Actually anything less than 1680x1020 is pointless for SLI. Seeing that i run at 1920x1200 on a 24" monitor i get quite a performance boost out of my set up.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

oh yeah...
high res = definitely worth it.
lol the 50%+ increase i saw was in 3dmark heh totally pointless.
i did get pretty good FPS gains in some games. mostly, i was maxing my one card out with medium/high settings. with SLI i could turn everything to its highest and still get good framerates.
i got a bargain on my second card, so it was worth it. full price and low res monitor it isnt.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 04:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The gain of SLI performance...4000 points in 3dmark06 :P Actually anything less than 1680x1020 is pointless for SLI. Seeing that i run at 1920x1200 on a 24" monitor i get quite a performance boost out of my set up.
hey how is ur crysis performance
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 04:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

with games liek crysis, i dotn see sli as unreasonable, im getting cross fire cards and i cant wait, if only a good sli mobo existed right now, that was a litle future proof, and i kno its a litle useless, btu in onlien gaming 100+ fps really helps at my res.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 05:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

doubt 100+ frames help if your refresh rate is only 60-70
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 05:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

its only really bout 30-40% performance boost but it will probly get better as time goes on with new cards
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

Crysis @ 1920x1200 dx9 settings all HIGH i get 30-40fps depending on whats on screen, when i used the dx10 hack i got like 18fps
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 07:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

what?! no way you got 18 fps.. i played on 1920x1200 dx9 w/ very high settings and i know for sure i got higher than that?!?! that don't sound right

is SLi still performing crappily on crysis?!?!

the only time i saw choppy performance was in the very end fighting that huge thing... that part was just nuts.. fire everywhere... rockets being shot.. constant movement.. and that crazy overhyped gun that really sucked

i'll try playing it w/ fraps on later today to confirm my total fps
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 07:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

how much rougher on the ol rig is crysis versus say COD4? i mean graphics-wise.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:14 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How SLI work in my computer?

Ya i dont think crysis is optimized for SLI just yet. Hopefully the patch will fix all that.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.