how/should I overclock my video card ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default how/should I overclock my video card ?

I've got a 128MB AGP Radeon 9800 , 378mhz GPU clock speed,

would I see any benefits from overclocking it ?

what exactly does overclocking do ?

would it help reduce graphic lag in Everquest 2 ?
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

Download and run ATI Tool and follow these steps. Find your max Core and memory clocks and then lower it by 10MHz, to be safe. Remember to run Artifact Scan to see if there is any problem. If there are artifacts, then lower it by 5-10MHz, until it becomes stable, and you see no artifacts, at all.

You would see a change in speed once you overclock your VGA. Your FPS would be higher then stock performance and it'll work better. Overclocking just helps your components run at a better performance then it is when you first buy it.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

what is artifact scan ? where can I find it ?

I'm installing the latest drivers from ATI now... hopefully it comes with the tool
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

It should be under Find Max Mem. But run the Find Max Core first. When it's stable, you will not see anything in the 3D View except for the cube. If it's unstable you should hear beeping sounds and there would be some dots or lines in the 3D View. That's when you stop your Find Max Core and follow the steps I just told you in my previous post. Do the same with Find Max Mem.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

**** I'm having problems installing the new drivers and the catalyst... it won't run when the computer reboots... it gives me the error
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

Installing new drivers and catalyst? All you do is download and install ATI Tool.

ATI Tool
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Installing new drivers and catalyst? All you do is download and install ATI Tool.

ATI Tool
yeah the catalyst wont run .... it gives the error "the application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135). Clock ok to terminate the applicaton. "
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

What the? When I downloaded it on my computer and installed it, it turned on the ATI Tool.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

o cool I got it from that link........
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 03:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: how/should I overclock my video card ?

ok I pressed "find max core" it went for .7 seconds then stalled my computer...... trying again.
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM
Video Card Power Feeback? Lord Zeon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 07:45 PM
Video card Snake91839 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-02-2007 11:03 AM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.