How should I go about installing 6800gs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default How should I go about installing 6800gs

Alright well soon I will be getting this new agp card and Ive gotta change from my 9800 pro to it. The problem I'm gonna have here is drivers so I was thinking that Id do a complete reinstall of windows to keep things fresh. Heres the hard drive situation:

hd 1 has windows and program files on it, it can be formatted since i can reinstall this.

hd 2 has files I dont want to lose on it.

hd3 has files I dont want to lose on it, as well as a copy of Fedore core 4 on it.

When i boot my comp i get a boot menu asking me if i want windows or linux, I want to completely ditch linux and this boot screen, without killing the rest of the stuff on the third hard drive (or is the boot menu on hd1??).

Any suggestions about how I should go about formatting this?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Before you take your 9800pro out uninstall teh drivers then shut down take it out then install your 6800GS. Looks liek your getting a new mobo. So you might as well do a whole system reinstall
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

No new mobo, same one. Once again this is the 6800gs AGP version, AGP. So you think i should just uninstall or will there be traces of the old driver even still?
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

what would happen if you hot swap it(i heard you can swap cards while you pc is running is that true)
zenyora is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

No way can you hot swap a video card, also why on earth would anyone want to. I'm not gonne be one to test that out.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

There is no 6800GS there will be a 7800GS AGP only but the 6800GS will be PCIE16 only, thats what i heard
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

Do a whole entire system reinstall.
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
There is no 6800GS there will be a 7800GS AGP only but the 6800GS will be PCIE16 only, thats what i heard
AGP 6800GS http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/6800_Series.html
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

Driver Cleaner is a great program for removing old drivers. You shouldn't need to reformat your hard drives.

http://www.drivercleaner.net/
beardo526 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 05:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.tgdaily.com/2005/12/21/albatron_agp6800gs/

i see
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.