How to select the good RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 02:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
I got the G.Skill HZs purely because everyone recommended them ( and I also had no idea about ram at the time...and still dont know too much ). I never had any problems sticking with the recommended 2.0v-2.1 at 800 mhz and 4-4-4-12. How do the new g.skill PKs stack up?
lol, same here...but I was VERY glad that I did. I also would like to know how the PKs stack up. Also, what about the PIs, which seem to be pretty new (the ones that are a copy of the OCZ dominator heatsinks)
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 04:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

I've been running the PK's for a while now. I love em, great ram. I even ordered another 4GB kit for my new rig, should be here on thursday. I don't think i'll ever run another brand of ddr2. nice and stable. Didn't give me any grief at all overclocking while overclocking my quad.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

akubane you went dual core and your off water?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 12:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
I got the G.Skill HZs purely because everyone recommended them ( and I also had no idea about ram at the time...and still dont know too much ). I never had any problems sticking with the recommended 2.0v-2.1 at 800 mhz and 4-4-4-12. How do the new g.skill PKs stack up?
the pk's are the newest ddr2 set of ram excluding the PI series. and the PI are the pk's but with a new heatsink, they are obviously not as good as the HZ's but are equally as good as the OCZ for overclocking.

acutally, yesterday i went to poen a parcel with my clients parts, and behold a set of ddr2 4-4-4-12 2x1gb PK's were in there in stead of the supposed cheaper NR's. so i gave the guy my NQ's and put the PK's in my budget build, cant wait to see what i can get these timings to, the Gksill NQ's which got from 5-5-5-15 to 4-4-4-12 very easily are probably the best value for money ram u can get! these pk's should serve me well also.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 11:07 AM   #15 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
the pk's are the newest ddr2 set of ram excluding the PI series. and the PI are the pk's but with a new heatsink, they are obviously not as good as the HZ's but are equally as good as the OCZ for overclocking.

acutally, yesterday i went to poen a parcel with my clients parts, and behold a set of ddr2 4-4-4-12 2x1gb PK's were in there in stead of the supposed cheaper NR's. so i gave the guy my NQ's and put the PK's in my budget build, cant wait to see what i can get these timings to, the Gksill NQ's which got from 5-5-5-15 to 4-4-4-12 very easily are probably the best value for money ram u can get! these pk's should serve me well also.
The PKs were obviously not as good as the HZs? What? Aren't the HZs much older? So would it actually be a downgrade if I got 4 gigs of the PKs or the OCZ Ram everyone alludes too?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 05:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

HZ's use D9's. What do the PK's use. Probably Promos or Elipda
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 09:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

one of the two, im not sure

yeah the gskill HZ were an expensive set and are very good overclockers, HZ is the best series of gskill you can get, no other gskill sets are better than the Hz's. well kinda, they wouldnt overclock aswell is what im trying to say, whether or not they give better stock performance im not sure, it would be minimal if so anyway.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
one of the two, im not sure

yeah the gskill HZ were an expensive set and are very good overclockers, HZ is the best series of gskill you can get, no other gskill sets are better than the Hz's. well kinda, they wouldnt overclock aswell is what im trying to say, whether or not they give better stock performance im not sure, it would be minimal if so anyway.
well um...how do I even know if the stock HZ setting of my ram which was like 2.0v at 4-4-4-12 wasn't overclocked? I had read a lot of feed back on the ram and a lot of people had problems getting it with any tighter timings or mhz. Hopefully when Thanksgiving comes around, another 2 gigs of HZ G.Skill will drop in price from its $109 price tag ( hasn't changed in a whole year since I got it ), so I can get 4 gigs and not worry about getting a whole brand new set of 4 gigs.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:31 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

i have not heard anything bad about the HZ's besides one person i think nagasama maybe, who couldnt get their HZ's very high only at like 950mhz will still isnt bad. i had mine at 1200mhz but at a highish voltage and wasnt completley stable. but i had em running 24/7 at 1100mhz for ages.. untill i got mt second 2gb set of ram free) aince they were **** and didnt overclock (patriot) i had to clock em down.

You might just be better off gettin PK's they are rated same stock timings and speed. HZ are not worth the price and i dun see em cuming down... ill make a thread or pm you once i overclocked my PK's to see how good they go if you want.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:35 AM   #20 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How to select the good RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
i have not heard anything bad about the HZ's besides one person i think nagasama maybe, who couldnt get their HZ's very high only at like 950mhz will still isnt bad. i had mine at 1200mhz but at a highish voltage and wasnt completley stable. but i had em running 24/7 at 1100mhz for ages.. untill i got mt second 2gb set of ram free) aince they were **** and didnt overclock (patriot) i had to clock em down.

You might just be better off gettin PK's they are rated same stock timings and speed. HZ are not worth the price and i dun see em cuming down... ill make a thread or pm you once i overclocked my PK's to see how good they go if you want.

hmmm you had 2 different sets of 2 gigs of ram in your computer? I didn't even think that was possible let alone a really bad idea for stability reasons.

Also how much did your 3dbenchmark scores or practical performance increase when overclocking your HZs from 800 to 1100, seems kind of unworth it unless theres a huge jump in performance and I doubt it.

Thanks for the information though
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM, OP, POS, and Cooling questions on a first build. BossChase New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-22-2008 12:28 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
good deal for RAM? cinaibur System Upgrades 8 01-12-2008 07:47 AM
Good deal on Ram luke87 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 22 10-03-2007 11:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.