How powerful is this computer for gaming? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2012, 11:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

PSU (19A on a 450W is bad) before a new Video Card.
Get windows whenever, unless you can't play your games in Linux then get it ASAP.

There is an option on your motherboards BIOS to unlock hidden cores.
The X3 is an X4 CPU with a locked core.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 11:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluehotdog5 View Post
What do you mean unlock to a quad? is there some magical way of transforming a tri-core to a quad-core, or do you mean I should upgrade to a quad?
Unlocking to a Quad is hit or miss on certain processors. Trotter is talking about changing a BIOS setting to potentially enable a "hidden" core. Sometimes the market calls for more tri cores, so AMD disables a core in a quad and sells it for the price of a tri core, sometimes the core is disabled because the processor was meant to be a quad, but one core failed whatever tests that AMD does for stability.
It can vary from BIOS to BIOS and motherboard to motherboard, but I think that a common way of enabling them is to enable ACC and use a relatively high value of it. Sometimes you can unlock cache as well.

Edit: Ninjad by Roark.
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

^ Exactly. I know my board actually tells you to hit a specific key on the splash screen to open up the core unlocker.

My wife's CPU was an Athlon II x3 445 that unlocked into a Phenom II x4 B45. My daughter's CPU was a Phenom II x2 555 that unlocked into a quad as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

If I tried to unlock it to a quad, what's the worst thing that could happen? Is it as simple as going into the bios and changing some stuff? My current processor is a 2.7GHz single core, which is very slow, so any computer with more then one core will satisfy me for the time being lol. But I might look into unlocking it later, once it' s built.

Why do they lock cores? is it because the fourth one is unstable or something?
Bluehotdog5 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

If the core is unstable and you enable it it could cause damage to the CPU itself and/or the motherboard, but that is rare.
Usually if you enable an unstable core, your system will crash and be unstable (BSOD).
If you enable the core and it isn't unstable, then you now have a core that you didn't pay for.

They lock cores for the reasons mentioned above.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

So they disable the core so it sells more, because more people buy tri-cores than quad-cores? that's interesting. By the way, how long does it usually take to put a barebone kit together? not including OS installation. My friend is coming over today to help me put it together, I'm curious how long it will take.
Bluehotdog5 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

They disable it so they can sell it. If they manufacture a 4-core CPU with one or two unstable cores, instead of throwing it out they just lock the cores and sell it as a 2 or 3 core.
While they don't meet manufacturing specs, most people can unlock and have no problems with them.

Depends on how much effort you put in to making it pretty, and how many times you have to go back and re-do something you messed up or missed.
I'd say average 2 hours, unless you just slap everything in there with no regard to cable management, then probably less.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:58 AM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluehotdog5 View Post
I'm not sure what you mean, so here's a scan I took. It's a large image, but I figured the quality is better than it would be if I just took a picture.
Might as well help make you smarter..

A psu is rated in Watts and Amps on the +12V. With yours, you see it's 450W, and on the 12V its 19Amps. Which is horrible if you plan to run a bigger/better gpu.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Might as well help make you smarter..

A psu is rated in Watts and Amps on the +12V. With yours, you see it's 450W, and on the 12V its 19Amps. Which is horrible if you plan to run a bigger/better gpu.
Are there any requirements for buying a new PSU, or could I just buy any PSU and it'll fit in my case? I'm not sure how to look for a new PSU, since I don't know how to measure what is good and what is bad, aside from assuming that expensive = good and cheap = not good. What would be an example of a good PSU?
Bluehotdog5 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: How powerful is this computer for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluehotdog5 View Post
What would be an example of a good PSU?
Already posted is an answer to this question too.
Are my posts invisible?
Read the link below, the second post shows what brands and models of PSUs are high quality.
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purchasing first Mac (also first powerful computer I've owned) any secrets / tips from experienced users? peaceninjah Apple and Mac 3 01-18-2012 01:47 PM
Powerful Video Editing/Semi-Gaming Build Help Force_iQ New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-06-2011 05:32 PM
Building silent, powerful microATX computer. Auxii System Upgrades 5 05-14-2011 02:18 PM
Can I build a computer this powerful?? melorock New Systems | Building and Buying 22 07-01-2009 08:23 PM
powerful computer, where?? Liam amd.64 System Upgrades 4 03-17-2006 04:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.