How much Power should I have for GTX570 Sli? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2011, 09:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default How much Power should I have for GTX570 Sli?

Like the Title suggests, I'm hoping I can Sli with enough power. I already have 1 GTX570 barely a week old and working fine.

GTX570
PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk II 750W
And the Mobo, incase that matters... but it is Sli ready.
GIGABYTE GA-Z68X


P.s. What are the advantages working with sli? I do much PS and FW (2000x2000 sized pictures, Hard gaming with Metro and Sc2, and Sims3. As for CPU, I have a i7 2600k.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

Ridalin is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: How much Power should I have for GTX570 Sli?

Yyou miight actually be fine... Thats a quality psu, and a good size.

I THINK YOURE good, as its 550W for 1, add 71 moredat load, give bout 650W total.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: How much Power should I have for GTX570 Sli?

THanks, for some reason I thought the 550w requirement added together, for 1100w needed...but I knew that couldn't be right....lol

Thanks, I'll go ahead and get it, and while I'm at it, I'll get 2133 ram with it.

Thanks again, love this community!
Ridalin is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: How much Power should I have for GTX570 Sli?

Crap I forgot, i was wrong and ment to ffix this... Its actually 140W at load per card. 70W is idle.

550 is the amount for 1 card and all system components. I ran sli 260's on a 700W Silverstone with no issues, which run alittle less per card, but not much at all.

Heres the actual tests GeForce GTX 570 SLI review
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX570 (EVGA HD or ECS) Ridalin New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-25-2011 04:51 PM
Graphic Card Help, GTX570 or GTX550 TI sli? Ridalin New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-21-2011 03:28 PM
M2N-SLI Deluxe with GTX570 and 8800GT - question Hironori System Upgrades 3 03-21-2011 08:44 AM
Reset SW, Power SW, Power LED-, Power LED+, H.D.D. LED, HDA, and AC'97 GhOsT1321 System Upgrades 3 06-22-2010 07:16 PM
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.