how much power... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2008, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default how much power...

if i were to try and build a machine with:
4850 x 2;
an i7 920;
on a p6t deluxe mobo;
with 2 x 2gb ddr3 1333 dual channel mem;
a xfi xtreme gamer sound card;
a 350gb hd;
with dvd burner & dvd player drives;

how big of a psu do i need?
__________________

__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: how much power...

That's like 650 watts, get a Corsair750TX, it's excellent. >:]
__________________

__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: how much power...

kk ty i currently have a 650w psu since i bought have of my upgrades over summer and was gonna buy les expensive part like a quad core and a p5q pro but no that the i7's r out and all that i figured id might as well go for bleeding edge right lolz ty again
__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: how much power...

Umm. Are you going to use the 650 watt?
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: how much power...

well i am prob gonna for now i am still a lil moneywise short on my second 4850... should i still get a better psu for right now or can i twait til i get my second 4850
__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 03:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: how much power...

do not mean to hijack but is a 550w sufficient for a 4870 or 4850?
__________________
SuxoR is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 03:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: how much power...

Single 4850/4870 yes. Crossfire 4850? Yes. Crossfire 4870? That's pushing it.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 05:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: how much power...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuxoR View Post
do not mean to hijack but is a 550w sufficient for a 4870 or 4850?
The wattage isnt the major issue - the amperage is. That is more complex to work out. For a single 4870 and a quad core setup you should have a minimum of about 28-30A, but preferably more. To find out the amps supplied by the 12v rail(s) you will probably have to check the manufacturers website. If the psu has a single 12 rail, just look at the amperage under it. If there are multiple rails, find out the total wattage supplied to all the 12v rails and then divide that number by 12 to get the total amperage.

Many cheapo psu manufacturers only give maybe 300w out of 500w to the 12v rails...which is what the gpu will run off. This is where you can get into trouble as 300/12 is only 25 amps...
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 06:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: how much power...

yep thats true pays to buy a good psu, look on the side and the amperage rating is on there, but if its over more than one rail then thats only the theoretical value, but its still around the same aperage. so youll need a decent mid 40A rating to run crossfire 4850's assuming u have 1hdd 1optical etc.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 03:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: how much power...

Quote:
Originally Posted by insanepsycho View Post
well i am prob gonna for now i am still a lil moneywise short on my second 4850... should i still get a better psu for right now or can i twait til i get my second 4850
so... ^
__________________

__________________
insanepsycho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 08:05 PM
power problems xbox122501 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-19-2008 04:53 PM
Power Supplies page006 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-22-2008 06:14 PM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 04:27 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 01:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.