How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2007, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad core?

I hear a lot of people keep saying that the q6600 isn't a true quad core but does that really matter? I know Penryn(sp?) is suppose to be true quad core but it will probably have other differences to. But if everything else was the same how much of a difference would a true quad make?

EDIT: For comparison with apps that can use 4 cores.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
I hear a lot of people keep saying that the q6600 isn't a true quad core but does that really matter? I know Penryn(sp?) is suppose to be true quad core but it will probably have other differences to. But if everything else was the same how much of a difference would a true quad make?
Im guessing not actually that much. The problem is that there are few applications and no games that make use of 4 cores. I think even in games like crysis (which apparently has support for quads) we will only see maybe a 5% gain from using "true" quad cores.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

For this question assume that the apps can use 4 cores.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Im guessing not actually that much. The problem is that there are few applications and no games that make use of 4 cores. I think even in games like crysis (which apparently has support for quads) we will only see maybe a 5% gain from using "true" quad cores.
crysis will support four cores
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

probably temperature differences? and an increase in price?
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

btw dario, that phrase in your sig is weird
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

I was reading about this:

This situation is analygous to the comparison between the Pentium D and the Pentium core 2 duo: The Pentium D is like two Pentium 4's slapped together, while the core 2 duo is two cores on the same die.

The q6600 is like two core 2 duos slapped together, while a true quad core would be four cores on the same die.

How does this relate to perforamce? No empirical data, but I have read that on the q6600, stricly speaking, the four cores can not communicate with one another: a single core must commit its duo to communicate information to the other duo.

Just my analysis, I hope it sparks further conversation or debate.
catfacem3n is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

Quote:
Originally Posted by catfacem3n View Post
I was reading about this:

This situation is analygous to the comparison between the Pentium D and the Pentium core 2 duo: The Pentium D is like two Pentium 4's slapped together, while the core 2 duo is two cores on the same die.

The q6600 is like two core 2 duos slapped together, while a true quad core would be four cores on the same die.

How does this relate to perforamce? No empirical data, but I have read that on the q6600, stricly speaking, the four cores can not communicate with one another: a single core must commit its duo to communicate information to the other duo.

Just my analysis, I hope it sparks further conversation or debate.
Just remember that the leap from the pentium D to the core 2 duo is huge whereas the leap to from the core 2 duo to penryn is not as big. The core 2 duos were a completely new architecture which got rid of the ancient netburst architecture.

Im starting to wonder how much performance increase there will really be with the penryns - only 18months after the core 2 duos, and even though they will be 45nm this might only translate into lower power usage and cooler processors.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Just remember that the leap from the pentium D to the core 2 duo is huge whereas the leap to from the core 2 duo to penryn is not as big. The core 2 duos were a completely new architecture which got rid of the ancient netburst architecture.

Im starting to wonder how much performance increase there will really be with the penryns - only 18months after the core 2 duos, and even though they will be 45nm this might only translate into lower power usage and cooler processors.
wrong, the c2d's are based off an existing architecture: the pentium 3 one.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: How much of a difference would there be in a "true" quad core compared to quad co

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
wrong, the c2d's are based off an existing architecture: the pentium 3 one.
Seriously? I didnt know that... I guess my comment still sorta holds though.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Quad core help Darybart New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-14-2007 08:47 AM
Difference between Presler and Core 2 Duo darsunt New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-12-2007 03:07 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.